We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$127
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$131
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
US$92
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$131
US$95
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$134
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$610
US$512
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SO Sofitel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$240
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Siam(Bangkok)
US$1,898
US$1,663
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,931)
Filter reviews
2,931 results
Traveler rating
2,373
416
83
29
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,373
416
83
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity pooljapanese breakfastjapanese touchjapanese hospitalitycentral embassydean delucajapanese toiletthe club loungebts stationinternational buffetmacaroonscorner roomturn down servicewireless roaddirect accessamazing hotelthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,931 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Okura for a short stint in Bangkok prior to heading to Hong Kong then Phuket.
The check in process was okay, although we waited for 2 hours in the lobby then transitioned to the infinity pool outside, we were just off a long flight and would have loved to go straight to our room. After we got settled in, the room was nice and basic, but nothing exceptional. The view was beautiful, but again, for the price we paid for the room and the wait time it would have been nice to have some more space.
We ate the buffet the next morning before we set out on our day trip activities, and although it was expensive, it was delicious.
One thing in Thailand- if you eat in the hotels, expect to pay 5 star process (35-40$/pp). Although the hotels are convenient, it doesn't give you the cultural experience of the local mom and pop shops, which also happen to be 1/8 of the price.
The location of this hotel was ok, its easy to hail a cab or a cath a Tuk-Tuk.
The weather in Bangkok is super hot and humid, so just prepare for that.
Looking back, this hotel was nice, but if we return we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardSnoeks, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Katie D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. Although I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, I would like to extend my apologies for not having been able to provide the room for you in a more timely manner. For any future visit, kind feel free to contact me directly so that I can personally ensure that all is ready and available at the time of your arrival or, indeed, that a suitable alternative is offered.

I thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Edward E. Snoeks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having travelled extensively and stayed at many hotels on their club floors, The Okura Bangkok was disappointing and the word prestige was definitely not evident.


Nice hotel, great breakfast but staff on general floors seem more confident and courteous than the club level. At $450 Aus a night I would have expected a lot more for my money. No senior staff in club lounge and I felt the service was tailored to the demanding guests. No late check out permitted and not very helpful staff on the front desk in lounge. Very junior staff and we’re quick to judge guests by their age and demanding attitudes. We are simple guests who love great service but won’t demand attention, 5 star hotels should offer consistent service to all guests especially those who outlay for club room benefits.

Hotels like the Icon and Cordis in Hong Kong put this hotel to shame.

Pool area needs maintenance and we were not approached by any staff member with either water or asked if we wanted to order food. Knowing how Japenese service is, this hotel wasn’t authentic from a service perspective.

Staff at the general reception and doorman were lovely. I definitely wouldn’t pay the extra again for a club floor and would probably stay elsewhere.

Facilities look 5 star but service both from an attitude perspective and training were lucky to be 3 star. The GM should take a good look at who he has working in the club lounge.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Lionel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardSnoeks, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lionel888,

Thank you for sharing your comments on the hotel and services. It is regretful, however, to read that your stay did not meet with your expectations and I apologise if we missed the opportunity to impress you on this occasion. We receive many positive comments on the Okura Club Lounge service, among others, as can be seen from comments elsewhere on this platform, and as such it is truly unfortunate that we have given you no such impression.

We do make every effort to accommodate late check-out requests, but there are some days that this is not an option due to the occupancy level of the hotel and number of arrivals for that day. I understand very well how inconvenient it can be if one has to wait for a late flight and how a little extra time can make the trip easier. On the other hand, we also try our utmost to ensure that arriving guests are not kept waiting for their rooms on arrival. For the benefit of other travellers reading your review, even if we cannot accommodate late check-out requests, our departing guests can always store luggage and belongings as long as needed, and still have full access to the pool, restaurants, spa as well as our changing rooms for a last minute shower.

I thank you once again for sharing your views and do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Edward E. Snoeks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay in this excellent hotel last week. When we come at 4am, the reception upgrade our room into spacious large suite. Beautiful modern suite room with very large bathtube (for 4 persons) with complete amenities and daily fruits
in our room. We have book the club room so we have a choice for excellent Japanese or delicious International buffet breakfast with different foods and fresh (coconut, orange etc) juice, really one of the best breakfast we have ever experience. In the evening different foods, wine , cocktail included in the room price. Friendly staff at the reception, concierge, also in the restaurants. Overall very nice and excellent stay in this hotel. Great location walking distance 5 minutes to the BTS.
Beautiful swimming pool at the 25th floor with stunning view. We highly recommended this hotel and we will stay in this hotel again when we come back to Bangkok.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank essenhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardSnoeks, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear essenhongkong,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Okura Prestige Bangkok with the TripAdvisor community! I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time while with us, and especially great to know that you enjoyed our hospitality. Please do let us know of any future travel plans to Bangkok and we will gladly assist with any arrangements needed. We look forward to the pleasure of your return!

Thank you once again and very best regards,

Edward E. Snoeks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located in the center of Bangkok's mass transit, shopping, and restaurants, and yet, once you enter the lobby on the 24th floor, you have no sense whatsoever of its surroundings because of the Okura's quiet, serene, immaculately clean, and simple interiors. Service is typically Japanese (thoughtful, efficient, yet gentle) and the most basic room we reserved was well stocked with amenities. We will definitely return to the Okura on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccrevival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardSnoeks, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ccrevival,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very positive feedback about your recent stay at The Okura Prestige Bangkok with the TripAdvisor community. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here with us and we are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The most rewarding feeling is having our guests wanting to return after they have had a memorable experience with us and we certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Please do let us know how we may assist with your next stay. Thank you once again for your wonderful review.

With very best regards,
Edward E. Snoeks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel several times now and every time I am reminded why I like it so much:-
1. Great location right next to the BTS in central Bangkok.
2. It could easily be a typical “corporate” type hotel.. it is anything but.
3. Often breakfast even in ‘5 star’ hotels has become a poorer quality self service buffet which repeats day after day. The Okura ensures that is not the case.
4. Great food...this is clearly down to the executive chef Antony Scholtmeyer with all three restaurants having a strong focus on flavours which simply delight. Elements being number 4 in the best restaurant guide in BKK merely reflects this.
5. And here is the secret ingredient... the staff. They make your stay warm and friendly together with impeccable service.
So many top class hotels around the world could take a lesson from the Okura in how to take a good hotel and make it a great hotel

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ianmcg2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardSnoeks, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ianmcg2100,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your experience at The Okura Prestige Bangkok. It is delightful to read that you have loved your stay with us and it was so wonderful to welcome you back.Thank you as well for sharing your favourite aspects of your stay and your compliments on our F&B offerings. I have since shared your kind words with our Executive Chef Antony Scholtmeyer and the kitchen team, much to their delight. Should you be returning to Bangkok again in the future, please do let us know if we can help with any arrangements. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Edward E. Snoeks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews