We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband really likes this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Want Residences
Ranked #19 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2017

My husband discovered this hotel quite a while ago, but I haven't been able to stay in it until now. We had to book early. Everything about the room is quite good. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast buffet choices are mostly Asian. I like eating vegetables for breakfast. They had a nice breakfast ham and I ordered a cheese omelet and toasted some bread. I don't speak Chinese and found the location a little intimidating. I went out looking for a hair salon in every direction from the hotel late one afternoon and found nothing that looked inviting. It is well located for use of the MRT.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sisterandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, Guest Relations Manager at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Dear sisterandersen,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay at San Want Residences Taipei.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our comfortable,well-appointed guest rooms, the varied buffet breakfast, as well as the friendly, attentive service offered by our staff.

Regarding your comment on the location of the hotel and its neighborhood, our hotel is rather close to one of the largest shopping areas in Taipei, besides fine dining and shopping, there are also some pretty good hair salons nearby. Though I must admit that these salons are usually located on the 2nd floor and sometimes not easy to find. Please feel free to consult with our staff if you need any assistance, they know the neighborhood very well and they will be more than happy to provide you with some useful information on shopping, dining or sightseeing.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel someday soon.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for San Want Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 696 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

I personally loved the huge king size bed (it was bigger than your California king size bed), amazing Chinese and Western breakfast, and bathroom. The bathroom had a Japanese toilet, strong shower head pressure, and a side bath. The only downside of this hotel was its location. It was far from public transport.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank hksusie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, Guest Relations Manager at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear hksusie123,

Thank you for choosing to stay at San Want Residences Taipei recently and also for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are delighted to learn that you were highly impressed by our well-appointed, super comfortable guest rooms and found our hotel to be good value. Thank you also for mentioning our breakfast. As breakfast is the most important meal of a day, we hope our guests all get fully recharged after a good night’s sleep, eat healthy, and then kick off a new day! Your compliment regarding the buffet breakfast has been shared with my associates in the dining lounge and made all of them very happy and proud.

On behalf of the whole team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

Like what the other positive reviews say, there's nothing to nit pick about this hotel and you know it once you step in. Perhaps it's a little small in scale but hey, it's a "small luxury hotel." The standard studio double I stayed is not very big for me but it does feel spacious enough. I'm sure the more expensive rooms are bigger. The room employed lots of wood (or wood skins) so it exudes a certain degree of warmth. It has a Sony Bravia TV and the signal is good enough to justify its high definition. It comes with a wide selection of local and satellite channels. I realized that there's a HDMI socket on the wall near the TV so maybe it's possible to connect laptops or other devices to the TV. The desk comes with a printer and also some old school stationery in case you need to work. The bed is big, comfortable, and so are the pillows. The room comes with a minibar, which unsurprisingly requires you to pay. But it does come with complimentary fruit and a couple of biscuits that the mother company of the hotel is famous for. Bathroom comes with both a shower and a bath tub. The latter is a bit unorthodox as the tub is below ground level: probably a response to the hotel's main clientele, the Japanese. It also comes with an auto bidet which does everything for you. It can get too sensitive though, any slight movement seems to trigger it rather easily. What impressed me the most is the room's noise insulation─I've stayed in many hotels nearby and San Want has the quietest room. I could see cars travelling to and fro on an elevated highway just out of my hotel window and I could hear nothing.

Unless you pay more, generally the rooms get a city view. I personally prefer city view to park view since that is what makes Taipei unique despite the ugliness of the cityscape.

The hotel sits along a major road in Taipei (Nanjing East Rd.) so it's easy to get around either by taxi or public bus. The nearest MRT station is Zhongshan and while getting there from the hotel is rather straightforward, it's still a 10-15 minute walk. Zhongshan, however, sits on the Red Line. This would be most convenient if you are travelling to the Elephant Mountain, Taipei 101, Ding Tai Fung, Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Hall, Taipei Station, Shilin Night Market, Beitou Hot Springs or Tamsui─they are all on the same line, and you don't need a transfer.

As for the district where the hotel is, it's true that the nightlife there is bustling but generally speaking, there's nothing dangerous about it, even in the wee hours, not to mention there are at least 3 five-star hotels nearby. By Western standard, Taipei is perfectly safe: just stick to your common sense as a tourist. The upside to this is the many nice restaurants and eateries in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheng-Yi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, Guest Relations Manager at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Cheng-Yi,

Thank you very much for choosing San Want Residences Taipei and for sharing such an informative and generous review with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including the elegantly decorated, well-appointed guest room, the super comfortable bed, as well as the superb location of our hotel. Regarding the HDMI cable you mentioned in your review, there is a socket installed next to the writing desk which allows you to connect your laptop to the TV screen. You may enjoy movies or music stored on your laptop on a high definition TV in a comfortable room, needless to say that all rooms are installed with soundproof windows, so you won’t get disturbed by the bustling traffic on the elevated highway when you are watching your favorite movie even it is really not very far from the hotel!

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Taipei.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

Re-visited San Want Residences after some years, all the past impressions are fully confirmed. Position is excellent, as hotel interior/lobby/rooms/etc.Service is excellent, breakfast is great, everything is worth every penny you spend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GLSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, Guest Relations Manager at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear GLSI,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at San Want Residences Taipei.

We are beyond thrilled that you chose our hotel again and enjoyed your stay! As tourism is one of the fastest growing industries in Taiwan, there are quite a number of hotels newly opened these last few years. We do know that our hotel is relatively smaller in size and might not be brand new, but we constantly invest in staff training and updating our facilities, raising the bar on service to ensure that every guest will fully enjoy the stay and always check out with a big smile!

Once again, thank you for all your kind words and loyalty to the hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to San Want Residences next time your travels bring you back to Taipei.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

Well maintained facilities very friendly staff great breakfast nice and clean rooms location to sights nearby and close to main rail system and lots of restaurants most you can walk too
11 am to 5 pm tea time nearby shopping park across the street 7 elevens everywhere and lots of bakeries

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, Guest Relations Manager at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Dear frank b,

Thank you for staying at San Want Residences Taipei and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to read that you have overall enjoyed your stay at our hotel, in particular our varied buffet breakfast, the clean, well-appointed guest rooms, as well as the attentive service offered by our friendly and diligent staff.

The location of our hotel, as you have correctly mentioned, is indeed perfect for travelers. What you have to do is relax and follow your heart to enjoy your trip, as you can find almost everything you need nearby!

We hope you will visit our city again, and we very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel someday soon.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 574 in Taipei
1,390 reviews
Regent Taipei
#21 of 574 in Taipei
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#49 of 574 in Taipei
902 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 574 in Taipei
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Residences

Address: No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taipei
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: ₱6,609 - ₱37,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Want Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About San Want Residences TaipeiSan Want Residences Taipei formally opened its doors for business in March 2008 and aims to exceed guest satisfaction and achieve the attentiveness found in leading luxury hotels. San Want Residences Taipei is a sophisticated bolt-hole in the centre of Taipei, a tranquil alternative to staying in a bustling city hotel. Located in Taipei Nanjing East Road, and adjacent to the LinSen Park, the hotel is surrounded with international designers’ boutiques and offers easy accessibility to MRT station. San Want Residences Taipei is the latest boutique property carefully selected to join Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH). The hotel has an impressive collection of artworks and sculptures by contemporary Taiwanese artists, adding a special element to your experience. In addition to the museum boutique concept, the hotel also offers office use facilities especially for our business travelers. Equipped with selected office stationeries, the spacious office desk features multifunction HP laser jet machine to fax, print and copy. With an access to project laptop screens to the 37” High-Definition LCD television, each guestroom offers wireless and high-speed fiber optic Internet Access and free cell phone rental to fully support your business requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Want Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Residences Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing