We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food - well worth a visit or two! ”

Sarangi Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 860 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: European, Nepali
Description: A social business that's contemporary in design, we serve high quality, vegetarian and vegan dishes. We welcome guests with good hearts that care about Nepal, its people and the environment. We have aquaponic garden on the rooftop growing organic veggies on site. Conveniently located right next door to the Kathmandu Guest House in the heart of Thamel, our restaurant is situated off the main street in the Shiva complex. We are at the back of the courtyard on the upper floors. This quiet location allows you to enjoy our delicious food, in a peaceful and spacious environment. We're proud to be 100% social business meaning all of our profits go toward empowering and assisting the Gandharba people in Nepal who rank lowest amongst the castes. Our experienced local chefs offer unique dishes that will WOW your taste buds and the presentation is simply divine! It will be easy to spend your morning, afternoon or evening with us as we offer a variety of settings and seating arrangements including a peaceful terrace for lounging which includes a cinema. As well, we're equipped with exceptionally fast WIFI for your convenience. We invite you to visit us and indulge in our amazing one-of-a-kind dishes, local music and feel satisfied knowing you just made a difference in anothers life.
Restaurant details
Description: A social business that's contemporary in design, we serve high quality, vegetarian and vegan dishes. We welcome guests with good hearts that care about Nepal, its people and the environment. We have aquaponic garden on the rooftop growing organic veggies on site. Conveniently located right next door to the Kathmandu Guest House in the heart of Thamel, our restaurant is situated off the main street in the Shiva complex. We are at the back of the courtyard on the upper floors. This quiet location allows you to enjoy our delicious food, in a peaceful and spacious environment. We're proud to be 100% social business meaning all of our profits go toward empowering and assisting the Gandharba people in Nepal who rank lowest amongst the castes. Our experienced local chefs offer unique dishes that will WOW your taste buds and the presentation is simply divine! It will be easy to spend your morning, afternoon or evening with us as we offer a variety of settings and seating arrangements including a peaceful terrace for lounging which includes a cinema. As well, we're equipped with exceptionally fast WIFI for your convenience. We invite you to visit us and indulge in our amazing one-of-a-kind dishes, local music and feel satisfied knowing you just made a difference in anothers life.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great little place just off the main highstreet. Interesting, innovative menu with a wide range of veg and vegan dishes (try the mushroom crepe it was delicious!). Also, the staff are super friendly.

Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They serve good vegetarian food for an even better price! Staff is very friendly and attentive. We will come again tonight! :)

Thank holyghost7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Public Relations Manager at Sarangi Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location is in the center of Thamel but can be a little obscure as it’s on the 3rd floor of a building. It boasts a terrace seating area. On our 1st visit, we had the vegan cheesecake, the chocolate brownie, the fruit compote, pineapple smoothie w coconut milk, a ginger honey lemon drink and banana smoothie with coconut milk. The vegan cheesecake was slightly above average whereas the brownie was a tad too hard. As for the fruit compote, it’s a little overwhelming if you don’t like cinnamon. All the drinks that we had were satisfying. On the 2nd visit, we again ordered the chocolate brownie, the vegan cheesecake, the pineapple smoothie with coconut milk, iced mocha with soy milk and black tea with coconut milk. This time the brownie was near perfect but the cheesecake was like ‘smashed’. The drinks were disappointing this time round. Pineapple smoothie is just like pineapple juice, the soy milk was not properly dissolved and the coconut milk substitute for the tea simply didn’t work.

Thank Grayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Public Relations Manager at Sarangi Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. We will certainly take your feedback as an opportunity to improve. We hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first meal in Nepal at a tourist place and I wasn’t disappointed.. sure, I paid more. But probably typical for any place in this area. The restaurant is cute and they even have morning yoga sessions (u stretch while they prepare ur breakfast).

I ordered the dal bhat and the portions were good - definitely a filling meal. Service was good also. I want to go back and try their in house made vegan cheesecake next!

Thank JastiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Public Relations Manager at Sarangi Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. So glad we were your first experience of eating in Nepal. Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate at Sarangi at least every day while visiting Kathmandu. They met all of my requests and surprised me with colorful and delicious meals. The staff is very welcoming and thoughtful. They treat you like a human being and are willing to have a laugh with you. As a solo traveler this is a place to call home. Can’t wait to be back.

Thank jorgecD4112AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra F, Public Relations Manager at Sarangi Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. You were a delightful guest and we are all looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarangi Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Sarangi Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing