We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$85
Priceline$82
Hotels.com$85
Travelocity$85
Orbitz.com$85
eDreams$82
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveler rating
749
113
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
749
113
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis the penthouse the hustle and bustle busy thamel thamel district wonderful stay rooms are clean visit kathmandu hot water prem heart nepal trek chaos sanctuary tibetan culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 888 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019

I have been twice to the Dalai-La in the last six months and plan
a third trip next month with friends. It has become a pleasure to go
back to such a warm and welcoming hotel, ideally situated in Thamel
and yet away from the noisy streets with quiet confortable rooms
with interesting paintings and carvings and dedicated staff
always eager to please with a bright smile. The restaurant has an
extensive menu and the breakfast is delicious. The Owner who lives
on the premises is absolutely charming and always prepared to assist .
One truly feels at home in such a lovely place.

Room tip: The hotel has no lift and it is better to choose a room on a lower floor if you have difficulty with stairs.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PauletteTsoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
dalailaboutiquehotel, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Namaste Paulette,
It's always a pleasure hosting you and a joy to have your many kids come over for lunch and dinner.
It means a lot to us that you call Dalai-La home and our team your extended family here in Nepal.
For all your contribution and everything that you and your team have been doing for the children in Nepal, we are very thankful.
Happy to know that you like it here and that you appreciate the amenities we offer.
It's my privilege to know you personally and glad that we can contribute towards your philanthropic work here.
Appreciate all the references and sending your family and friends over to Dalai-La. We are thankful for your continuous love and support.
We look forward to seeing you again in November.
Best wishes,
Dhanyabad

Prem P. Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

The Dalai-La is in an ideal location to explore Thamel and beyond. The service is friendly and attentive - nothing is too much trouble. Very comfortable rooms with good amenities. The restaurant has a wide variety of dining choices - best breakfast in Kathmandu ! Looking forward to another week there next month.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank CatherineH3371
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
dalailaboutiquehotel, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Namaste Catherine,
It's always a pleasure hosting you, Paulette and team and a joy to have your many kids come over for lunch and dinner.
It means a lot to us that you call Dalai-La home and our team your extended family here in Nepal.
For all your contribution and everything that you and your team have been doing for the children in Nepal, we are very thankful.
Happy to know that you like it here and that you appreciate the amenities we offer.
It's my privilege to know you personally and glad that we can contribute towards your philanthropic work here.
Appreciate all the references and sending your family and friends over to Dalai-La. We are thankful for your continuous love and support.
We look forward to seeing you again in November.
Best wishes,
Dhanyabad

Prem P. Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

Have been a regular at this charming, well equipped and beautifully designed boutique hotel since 2015. Located in the heart of Kathmandu’s Thamel district, the place serves as an oasis for all that stay or dine here.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew van R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
dalailaboutiquehotel, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Hey Matthew,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience. It's always a pleasure seeing you and Karri and fun hosting you both. Happy to know you still call Dalai-La home after all these years.
Glad to know that Kushi Hona is still rocking and your projects in Hetuada with the kids and women are doing good.
Apologies couldn't catch up with you both during Dashain festival, however, hopefully we will after your return from Hetauda in November.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Dhanyabad for the 5 star review :)
Cheers!!
Prem P. Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2019

An excellent beautiful hotel with a very delicious food.
The weather and the place itself wonderful and the all the workers are very kind and helpful and they do whatever you want to makes you happy and satisfied

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ZaidH116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
dalailaboutiquehotel, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Hey Dr. Zaid,
Appreciate the compliments and for taking the time to write us a review. I'll pass on your good words to the team.
Thank you for bring in your group of volunteering doctors every year to Nepal and for their social work here. It means a lot of our country and people.
Glad to know that your team likes our hotel and continues to visit us year after year.

Dhanyabad and see you soon again :)

Prem P. Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2019

This is my fifth time that I stay at Dalai-La hotel and again, my expérience was the BEST.
The room is always clean, and the bed is very confortable!
The staff is more than professionnal and always there to help you!
The location is right where you want to be in Tamel, every thing is close by!
When you spend all day walking in Katmandu, you are happy to go back to your hotel, to find a little paradise, quiet, and feel home. You just want to stay and eat there at dinner and breakfeast. The food is excellent and not too expensive.
I will go back there no dought!
Cheers, Sylvain..

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sangers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
dalailaboutiquehotel, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Namaste Sylvain my friend,
Happy that you have reached home safe in Montreal. First of all, thank you for the bracelets, these are beautiful gifts, much appreciated. You have been with us since our opening back in Oct 2014, thank you for being such a loyal and loving supporter and for making Dalai-La your home in Nepal.
Glad to know that you still like our place and love our food after all these years too :) I'll let my team know too. I'm sure they will be happy and motivated :)
We look forward to your next visit.
Cheers!!
Prem P. Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews