We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveler rating
657
329
51
19
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
329
51
19
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forest walk hole golf course indoor pool spotted deer house restaurant dolma spa treatments downtown kathmandu relaxing stay main restaurant rooms are large away from the hustle and bustle special thanks an oasis breakfast buffet is busy city caddies
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All of us really enjoyed our stay there, the whole ambiance and amenities makes the overnight stay a nice gateway for families. The indoor swimming pool and the Jacuzzi was the highlight of our stay. The breakfast buffet is a nice spread with lots of choice and options. The staffs are nice and very friendly and overall we had a really comfortable and relaxing stay at the resort.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Wander58860187515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bdmgokarna, Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort!!

Thank you for sharing a positive review with the future travelers following your recent visit at Gokarna Forest Resort. We are so exhilarated to read you had such a rejuvenating gateway. It is encouraging for all of us to read such brilliant accolades that our overall arrangement was flawless.

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel , services and associates. All our guests are special to us and it is our endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience. This compliment will certainly act as a source to motivation for us to strive to achieve even higher standards.

We thank you once again for your support and hope that Gokarna Forest Resort , remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

With best regards
Gokarna Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

If you like The Four Seasons, you will like this place and deals are quite good in off season.

Though a little dated in some areas, this added a feel of old world charm that I really appreciated.

Got a nicer suite and it was large with beautiful local furniture and decor.

Service is top notch, breakfast is good, large bathroom, fresh fruits and chocolates delivered upon arrival...basically I felt like a princess in a great novel.

The grounds are gorgeous and my private roof top patio had some Monkeys visit. Don't feed them or leave the windows open!!! I just enjoyed them from within my room.

Now I will recommend they invest in pillow top mattresses, at least for the large suites. Bed is really firm.

Other than that I highly recommend getting the nicer suites, especially on your last day or two in town. I will be staying here again for sure!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank JenLPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bdmgokarna, Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Namaste & Warm Greetings!!

Thank you for your generous feedback. We are pleased and overwhelmed that you found everything to your ultimate satisfaction .We are pleased to know that you really liked our mattresses.

Thank you for your “5 star” rating and for recommending our hotel to the other online community.

We hope you return soon for another memorable stay.

In the interim kindly stay connected via Facebook & Instagram for specials.

With best regards
Gokarna Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Stayed with my spouse on 5th of Jan, 2019. The arrangement was impeccable.The room and the bathroom was spacious and well maintained. There are three restaurants- one Chinese/Thai by the 18 hole golf course, one bar and a restaurant. We tried all three- snacks at the Chinese/Thai, dinner in the bar and breakfast at the other restaurant. The bar played live instrumental music- two muscians, one playing flute and another a guitar. The ambience was very relaxing and soothing. The bar had a decent choice of drinks. We even ordered cocktails off the menu. We chose the buffet breakfast and the food label was color coded green or red to show if the item is vegetarian or not, which was easy for us vegetarians.

The air around the resort is very crisp. We went for the golf cart tour which is a tour of all the 18 holes of the golf course on a golf cart and the forest that we have to pass through to reach some holes. We passed golfers, maintenance workers and beautiful birds. It took around half an hour and was a beautiful experience. The golf cart driver was very helpful and helped us take pictures.

They have sauna, steam, jacuzzi and a swimming pool. There is separate sauna, steam and jacuzzi area for men and women, which was nice. The pool is temperature controlled and large but we were too tired to swim so we skipped that.

My only issue is... there's no bidet shower near the commode in the toilet. More people in the world use some form of bidet along with paper, from southern Europe, South Asia, South East Asia, some parts of Americas to the Middle East. So an addition of a bidet or a bidet shower would be nice.

But all in all a very good place for a quick rejuvenating getaway. I will definitely revisit with my family some day.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kkpathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bdmgokarna, Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort!!

Thank you for sharing a positive review with the future travelers following your recent visit at Gokarna Forest Resort. We are so exhilarated to read you had such a rejuvenating gateway. It is encouraging for all of us to read such brilliant accolades that our overall arrangement was flawless.

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel , services and associates. All our guests are special to us and it is our endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience. This compliment will certainly act as a source to motivation for us to strive to achieve even higher standards.

We thank you once again for your support and hope that Gokarna Forest Resort , remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

With best regards
Gokarna Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Gokarna for 2 nights and overall had a very pleasant stay. The resort is quite large and set in the middle of the forest reserve which is a nice change from chaotic Kathmandu proper. Highlights included a walking tour through the woods where you’d never know you were a stones throw away from a golf course. The food was some of the best we had in Nepal and the resort offers several different restaurants.

Prospective guests should be aware that this hotel is quite far from downtown Kathmandu. Though the resort offers a free shuttle or private car whenever you wish.

The rooms are huge but the showers are overdue for some remodeling.

Overall, it’s a great value for travelers wishing to stay outside of the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 789charliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bdmgokarna, Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort!!

Thank you for sharing a positive review with the future travelers following your recent visit at Gokarna Forest Resort. We are so exhilarated to read you had such a rejuvenating gateway. It is encouraging for all of us to read such brilliant accolades that our overall arrangement was impeccable.

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel , services and associates. All our guests are special to us and it is our endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience. This compliment will certainly act as a source to motivation for us to strive to achieve even higher standards and we will definitely take major steps into the concerns that you have emphasized in your review.

We thank you once again for your support and hope that Gokarna Forest Resort , remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

With best regards
Gokarna Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Nice staff.. good food.. had to experience a/c breakdown after dinner.. staff courteous to bring extra blanket and the heater telling that it should keep us warm which it did not..No toiletries like shaving kit and toothbrushes...Water in bathroom flowing like the tank was never cleaned..Sore eyes after swimming ( may be its just me)..other than that it was a good stay!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Coastal39696891768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bdmgokarna, Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort!!!

We thank you very much for having taken a moment of your time to express your feedback prior to your departure. We appreciate your valuable thoughts and comments about the resort and the services offered.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, so it is always great to hear that they were able to provide helpful and courteous service to you. This appreciation will definitely strive the team for further excellence.

The concerns you have emphasized in your review will not go unnoticed and we will certainly review the situation with respective teams as we always strive for better services. It is only through review such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed , where necessary, improve upon the service that we cater to our valued guests.

Once again we would like to thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gokarna Forest Resort.

With best regards
Gokarna Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews