We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Dakar(Dakar)
US$101
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrou-Bi(Dakar)
US$265
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Demeure(Dakar)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oceanic(Dakar)(Great Value!)
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
124
284
147
47
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
284
147
47
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripsmall bottle of watersea viewnice hotelbreakfast buffetnice pooloutdoor areaairportafricalagonconferenceusdcornichecfa
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

After several stays in Novotel Dakar for work, I would recommend it. Much better than the Ibis nearby... The rooms were cozy and quite clean. And if you can get a room with sea view, go for it :) . The staff was friendly, speaking both English and French on top of the Senegalese dialects. There is a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The food is good most of the time (just had some "tchep" that was kind of spoiled once...). What I enjoyed the most were the dinner outside of the restaurant by the outdoors bar (I particularly liked the "tempura"), listening to good live music.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank Abybah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Direction, Directeur général at Novotel Dakar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hello Dear Abybah,
We thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope to receive you again several many times.
With regards
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Very welcoming place with friendly staff and make sure to attend one of their live shows with very talented local artists like Kya Loum or Obree Daman during the week ❤️ the rooms are clean and cozy. I suggest the rooms with a view on the water to enjoy beautiful sunrises!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank aidasock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Direction, Directeur général at Novotel Dakar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hello Dear Aida,
We thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We hope to receive you again several many times.

With regards
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

The hotel is located in the CBD at a dead end from the main road passing nearby with a Super Market (only the best part as you could buy some stuff) nearby. There is a beach nearby, but one has to cross a road to reach it. The hotel room size is fine, but the maintenance needs lot of attention. The carpet has never seen shampoo or cleaning; extremely dirty with oil like layer on top plus constant smell in the room, sometimes unbearable. There is a restaurant in the ground floor with both indoor and outdoor facilities for eating. The price of rooms may be reasonable, but the buffet and other food items seem to be on the higher side of price when compared to 5 star hotels. There is a pool, bar and other necessary facilities outside the cafeteria area. The access to the hotel is not designed; there is always a delay for both incoming and outgoing vehicles; they could have designed separate entry and exit to avoid delays for vehicles. Overall not a satisfactory place due to the state of the carpet in the corridors and rooms.

Room Tip: There is IBIS hotel attached to Novotel; please check IBIS, may be smaller rooms but could be clean. Take room after the 8th floor.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narasimha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Direction, Directeur général at Novotel Dakar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Mr Nashimha,

We thank you for taking time to write us following to stay at Novotel Dakar. Be sure that we take notice about the maintenance and the appropriates measures will be taken to prevent future occurrence. we just start a renovation of the rooms .and so for your next stay you can be more comfortable.
Thank you again for sharing your experience
With regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

I liked it, it was very good, clean, very good breakfast, very helpful staff speaks English and French and great view, my only complain was the sound of music it was loud and has to go on until 9:30 every day

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Direction, Directeur général at Novotel Dakar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Sara,
We thank you for taking time to write us following To your stay at novotel.
It is a pleasure to read your comment about the staff, . Be sure that we take notice about the sound of music and we will take the appropriates mesures to better serve you.
With regards
Management staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Very nice hotel with spacious rooms, situated in a nice neighbourhood of Dakar. The staff is friendly and professional. The bathroom facilities are a functional and modern. The restaurant outside with life music was very pleasant. The breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Direction, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Dakar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello Dear Jorge,
We thank you for taking time To write us. It is a great pleasure To read your comments regarding the staff, room facilities and restaurant with live music.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews