We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western CBD Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$115
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$95
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$139
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$136
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$137
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jangwani Seabreeze Resort(Dar es Salaam)
US$65
US$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
300
355
69
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
355
69
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensbusiness hotelhotel restaurantbusiness tripcomfortable roombusiness districthome away from homestayed one nightexcellent hotelthe general managerhotel staffenjoyed my staycomfortable stayinternet connectioncity centredartanzania
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood of Dar which makes it a great place to have meetings with business partners. The members of staff tend to treat guests as part of the family and this goes a long way ain providing peace of mind. The training room is fairly equipped to keep one fit

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mike K

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam - much appreciated.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our service delivery and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service on the reception, room attendant Veridiana and Halima were exceptional. I enjoyed my breakfast and I always take away without any problem. I thank God for the chefs Saida and others.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dr Pius Opendi Ochola

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very kind comments - much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

Lunch on Friday was cool with fiends. Menu was fantastic with attentive waiters. The Hotel GM was personally in the Restaurant to check if all was going well and interacted with guests. This provided real assurance. Highly recommend for business lunch. Ambience is good and plenty of natural light.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Moustafa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Moustafa K

Thank for your recent visit to Baraza Restaurant at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and for your very kind comments regarding our Team and Product.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

I stayed for business for a few nights and although this is one of the top hotels in Dar I found it very average. Nothing was terrible but nothing really stood out, either. Pleasant enough to stay at but not for too long

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank rodney120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Dear rodney120

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Your comments have been constructively communicated to the Team for consideration and to assist us in creating memorable experiences for our Guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

i loved tge two days i spent in this hotel on the first of february .the rooms are so modern and clean . the staff of the hotel are genuinely nice , they love to ptovide you with help whenever needed . the lady at the concierge desk was so warm and welcoming .
food was nice and fresh and the waiters in tge breakfast restaurants are freindly and could help you with any particular food orders.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Faty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Dear Faty G

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews