We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
268
122
56
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
122
56
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirty habit the national portrait gallery post office building front desk verizon center great location quirky hotel penn quarter wine hour first floor bottle of champagne directly across the street national mall valet parking labor day weekend upon check easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I stayed at the Monaco hotel for business for one night. You can tell that this building was made when construction counted. The room was a little snug but it was very clean and extremely comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in DC.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrooklynSpydercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

BrooklynSpydercat hello and thank you for your nice comments. You are right we are a very well constructed, historic building. As the original home of the United States Postal Service, we were built between 1839 and 1865 and design by Washington's most notable, historic architects Robert Mills and Thomas Ustik Walter. Our building's history is amazing! Please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Kimpton Monaco for 6 nights while visiting Washington DC. The location was outstanding as well as the customer service. Special recognition to extra friendly and social Melvin who served the happy hour daily and to new staff member Jeffrey who was always there to assist us with inquiries. The room was lovely as well. My only suggestion is to lower breakfast prices. We ended up walking to Corner Bakery daily for half the cost. Definitely we would stay here again when returning to WDC.

Room tip: We had a corner room and loved it.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2018

My husband and I stayed recently at the Kimpton Monaco. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was great. The 5 a 6 was great and Melvin and B. were excellent hosts. The location is great, you are across the street from the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery and the Capital One Arena. My only complaint is the shower. There is insufficient pressure. Other than that, I would highly recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Great location (a little hard to find though), central and walkable to restaurants, sights, and the convention center. Metro station right across the street makes it easy to get to the airport or other locations around DC.

The rooms are unique and mine was underground. While the traffic noise was minimal for a city hotel (love!), there was a smell of exhaust fumes from time to time. The room is small, would be tiny with 2 or 3 in there, but efficient features such as built in shelves in the bathroom gave plenty of space for all your things. Lighting over the sink is good & I especially appreciated the magnifying mirror on the wall!

The 5-6pm happy hour/reception is a nice way to relax and unwind after a busy day. Front desk and doorman service was fantastic. Overall a great place to stay whether in DC for work or play (or a little of both).

Room tip: the basement level floors offered quiet even during busy traffic - and the design doesn't make you miss full-size windows
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSCMSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Great location, walkable to the sites, across street from the Metro transportation, parking available with valet, parking garages nearby, exceptional staff, building with history but yet contemporary, restaurant and bar outstanding with room service available, bar has an outside patio area, , room very clean and so much more!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank karen4441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews