We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$162
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Carlyle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt Washington(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$129
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Wink(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Harrington(Washington DC)
US$145
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,251)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveler rating
1,455
580
149
38
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,455
580
149
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbistro bisunion stationcapitol hillwine hourboutique hotelthe corner bakeryanimal print robesmini baryoga matwine receptioncomplimentary wineattached restaurantcapital buildingsupreme courtnational mallfront desk staffconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great two days at this hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the bathroom appeared to be recently modernized. The complimentary happy hour was a bonus and the only negative was the few dining options in the immediate area.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon C, Operations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Anthony M,

Thanks for staying with us at the Kimpton George Hotel during your 2 day trip to Washington, DC! Awesome to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and maybe more importantly, the complimentary wine hour! Glad you got to join us and was able to simply relax after a long day. Unfortunately, there aren't too many dining options in the immediate area due to our location, but I would definitely recommend Chinatown, which is just a short walk away. Tons of restaurants to choose from there! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to welcome you back again, Anthony M!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The restaurant served a wonderful dinner! The location is perfect for a DC visit! Easy walk to Union Station and many of the sights that DC has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jlw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon C, Operations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi jlw2018,

Thanks for choosing the Kimpton George Hotel as your "home away from home" during your visit to Washington, DC! Thank you for the wonderful feedback highlighting our central location, facilities and staff. Having Union Station only a couple blocks away makes it super convenient to tour the city and see all that it has to offer. Hope you got to see everything you wanted to, but if not, please come back and stay with us again, jlw2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The first thing I'll say is that I would not have chosen this hotel due to the location not being either near my office or in a "fun" part of town. I'd also say that I had a great experience before at a different Kimpton hotel in DC - the Palomar, so I don't want to generalize the negative aspects.

The gentleman at the desk could not have been nicer. Even got me a complimentary glass of wine at check in. Other staff members I encountered were also helpful and friendly. The lobby looked really nice, and the "living room" area for guest socializing is also a nice touch even though I didn't check it out. I'd also add the nice touch of towels in front for cleaning off from the rain and muggy weather.

My room looked really nice and even had a sitting area and nice desk, but there were a few things that were wrong. There was no outlet right near the bed for plugging in, which was pretty annoying, and the bed itself was uncomfortable. In the bathroom, there was no water pressure in the shower, and the room got really hot from the incandescent light bulbs near the mirror.

If these relatively easy fixes are done, the hotel would be a great place to stay for someone whose destination is nearby or that wants to stay by Union Station.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon C, Operations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mike K,

Thanks for choosing the Kimpton George Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback with us. Glad to hear that our staff welcomed you in with a nice glass of wine after what sounded like a wet day of travels! Sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced with room layout and functionality. I will definitely look into the feedback you have provided us and prioritize addressing them with our team. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope you give us another shot in the future, Mike K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The Kimpton George is in a great location, within walking distance of Union Station and the Capitol. Although the building is older, it has been beautifully renovated with lots of bespoke details touching on the "George" theme. My room was large and comfortable, with many thoughtful details that made it stand apart from the usual cookie-cutter hotel room. The bathroom was large and sleek with fancy light fixtures, again a huge step up from the usual hotel bathroom.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, especially Hannah who checked me in efficiently. The complimentary wine hour from 5 to 6 is a nice touch.
The building is in the shape of a "H" turned 90 degrees, with around 19 rooms on every floor. A majority of the rooms (13 out of 19) will therefore have no view to speak of, since they will either overlook the lightwell or the back alley. I was given one of the internal rooms overlooking the lightwell, and while the view was of a brick wall, on the plus side, it was very quiet, as there was no traffic noise.
The resort fee charged seems high given there are few resort type amenities to speak of - not even a complimentary bottle of water. However, on the whole this is a lovely hotel in a great location with knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are five rooms (out of 19 on each floor) overlooking the street which have a view. The other rooms have no view to speak of.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon C, Operations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi N S,

Thank you for choosing the Kimpton George Hotel during your trip to the nation's capital and taking the time to share your feedback with us. Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding the staff and the details in the guestrooms. It looks like Hannah made quite an impression on you during your check-in process! Thrilled to hear that you got to experience the Kimpton welcome that she shares so well with all our guests! And you made it to our wine hour! Hope you were able to relax with a glass of wine after a long day. Hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit the city, N S!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay if you are dropping off/picking up or just visiting your UGA student in D.C. It is within walking distance of Union Station and Delta Hall. Just around the corner from the Capitol.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank RFS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon C, Operations Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi RFS1971,

Thanks for staying with us at the Kimpton George Hotel during your trip to Washington, DC! You're absolutely right - we are just a short walk to Union Station, Delta Hall, the Capitol and many more places! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we hope to be your hotel of choice the next time your travel plans bring you to the nation's capital, RFS1971!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews