We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Paradise

We took a day trip from Trinidad and it was one of the highlights of the holiday. There are iguanas... read more

Reviewed 4 January 2020
gracetommo
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Paradise day with Iguanas

While visiting beautiful Trinidad we decided to go on a Catamaran trip to the Cayo Iguana rather... read more

Reviewed 15 December 2019
anita_worldwide
,
Copenhagen, Denmark
Read all 62 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cuba
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
34
15
10
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
15
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree rats cuc per person day trip iguanas crew catamaran skiing highlights dancing beach cuba
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

We took a day trip from Trinidad and it was one of the highlights of the holiday. There are iguanas everywhere, so plenty of photo opportunities, along with cute little tree rats who were particularly friendly, funnily enough, during lunch! The beach is breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful. If you’ve got a day to spare, you should definitely head here.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank gracetommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 December 2019

While visiting beautiful Trinidad we decided to go on a Catamaran trip to the Cayo Iguana rather spontaneously and it turned out to become one of the highlights of our Cuba vacations. Priced at 55 CUC per person it seems expensive, but the price is justified for the day you get in return. We were sailing on a Catamaran, which in itself is an experience in itself, and so beautiful. On the two our trip to the Cayo you can relax and enjoy the beautiful sea you are conquering. As a first stop we went snorkeling closeby the cayo (all equipment provided) and the underwater view was breathtaking. Afterwards we went to see the Iguanas and were not disappointed. There were so many beautiful iguanas and tree rats (which doesn't sound beautiful, but they actually are), all posing patiently for you on the most beautiful beach. The food served (seafood paella, fruits...) was delicious and plentiful, and the crew prepared some great Cuba Libres throughout our stay on the island. They recommended us to go to a more secluded part of the island which was paradise for swimming and relaxing, before we headed back to Trinidad. On the trip back we were served more drinks, played great music and had a blast dancing and drinking while we got to see dolphins as well.
The entire crew on board was very professional, helpful and great to hang out with ;)
Thank you Javier & team for a perfect day!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank anita_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2019 via mobile

We had a fantastic day on this trip, loved the snorkelling, the island is beautiful, the creatures are tame and cute. Don’t go for the food quality but it was fine and we were hungry from snorkelling. And the crew were very generous with alcohol on the way back creating a great party vibe.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Locozed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Went on a boat trip out of Trinidad to snorkel. There were some lovely fish to be seen. The island is deserted, other than gazillions of iguanas and lots of cute furry little Hutias. Don’t worry. They come close but won’t touch you or hurt you.

The island is pretty, has banana lounges, a big hut for lunch...and beautiful clear, warm water to swim and float in for hours.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank uncloudedweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2019

If you're into snorkelling, iguanas, rodents and small islands, this is the right place for you. We booked the tour in Cubatur in Trinidad. The price was 55 CUC per person. This includes the transfer via catamaran boat, drinks onboard, snorkelling equipment and lunch on the island. They gave out juice and water before snorkelling and beer/alcohol after the snorkelling. The water for snorkelling is perfect! Lots of corals and lots of fish! We really enjoyed it! The island is very nice, the iguanas and tree rats are very calm and friendly. You can pet them and feed them if you like. We had a crazy little party going back with music, dancing, beer and rum. Totally worth it!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank pajic_zvezdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews