We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice takeaway in centre of town.”
Review of Kentucky Eataways

Kentucky Eataways
Ranked #7 of 7 Quick Bites in Picton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited them twice - once for Chips and the second time for a Piza. In the centre of town. The service was excellent and the food tasty and relatively cheap.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Danie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

We’ve had better fish and chips in the middle of Aussie Outback. Picton is a seaside town, with an abundance of beautiful seafood. We opted for the Blue Cod having tried it for the first time in Kaikoura is was amazing, so we were happy paying more than double the price of any other fish on offer at Kentucky’s. However it was clearly frozen, and had no joke a layer .5cm thick doughy oily batter covering it.
I have never left a bad review, but this was extremely disappointing. We should have read the reviews prior to trying it.
The staff were really friendly but unfortunately doesn’t make up for the poor quality.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Meakopeako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2019 via mobile

25mns to get a burger w/ some fries isn’t fast food but « Slow food », sorry.

Having a red beet inside my burger isn’t smtg I particularly enjoy...!!!

Oversalted fries, I couldn’t finish them.

Is it family owned?
They all look aren’t really friendly..

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RegisG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

Friday evening, ordered a scoop of chips, took 20 mins to cook, cost twice as much as anywhere else, what a rip off, definitely give this place a wide berth next time! What a rip off, feel like they can charge whatever they like just because they're in Picton main Street.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RichardF3913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2019

Ordered two portions of blue cod and Kumara chips, so they were the most expensive dishes, the cod being 3 times the price of the pollock. Wouldn't mind the cost if quality was good but it was awful. The chips were the worse I have ever had and must have been from rotten Kumara. All throughout NZ we have enjoyed good quality Kumara chips but this place let it down. The fish wasn't good either but just about edible. Couldn't take it back because there was a long queue with slow service. They seem to be the only chippy in town and so there is no alternative. Avoid. Close them down.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Treve010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Eataways also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Kentucky Eataways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing