We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awful”
Review of The Thirsty Pig

The Thirsty Pig
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Picton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tried the green lip mussels 19$ and a side of fries (from a freezer bag) 8. Broth was flavorless and somehow looked separated like a miso soup. We only went here because our two first choices were closed. What a dump.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank stalvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This pub has friendly/helpful staff and I include the duty managers. The food was well presented on the two occasions I visited and enough to satisfy our hunger. Prices for the days special were acceptable as well - meal and drink NZ$20 as I recall. Should I return to Picton, it is a place I shall visit for a meal or two. Whilst there I thought it was a popular eating place with locals and visitors, so was busy at times.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2019

I had the Irish Stew and friend the Fried Fish. Neither meal was anything to write home about. Mine was $20 and Fish was $27. Wanted mussels as entree, but wouldn't provide as only a main.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Schimpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2019

We were in Picton for 1 night only and stumbled on The Thirsty Pig by chance. First of all it's a pub. But it is a pub serving excellent food. The lady behind the bar was cheerful and helpful, the food was well cooked and tasty, the ambience was good and the beer was varied and tasty.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

A smallish pub with concertina windows to street. A not very inviting outdoor area @ the back. Friendly helpful staff, order @ the bar. Our group ordered T-bone steak, pork chop & Orange Roughy & we were all well satisfied. We would definitely visit again

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank janhB7129HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Pig also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to The Thirsty Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing