We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Beachcomber Inn

Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Picton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 February 2019

Recently went to The Whalers restaurant for a family birthday. All 10 of us were super impressed with our meals. The food was presented beautifully. Generous portions, fresh produce, cooked to perfection. The table attenders were both professional and fun.
I hope the Management recognise how well their staff are doing their jobs.
It was a memorable occasion for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.
We definitely will return and recommend this restaurant. AAA+++

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carmendawn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Group of 8. Locals. Half of us ordered the scallops as a main. The result - disgusting. Each of the plates come out with 4 that’s right 4 scallops on it. We had already had starters and we were very clear about ordering the scallops as a main. The scallops were not battered, just 4 small miserable scallops on the plate covered in sprouts. We were so disappointed. We are quite easily pleased but this was the ultimate piss take. We won’t be back. We know a good meal as this wasn’t it. The salad was also horrible. No dressing. Why on earth is everything a ‘side’ ?? Not impressed for someone usually easily impressed with food. Lauren the waitress did a good job. She was never not moving and working hard. Thumbs up to her. Well done.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank BenM5265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

I visited the whalers restaurant at the beachcomber inn many times in the past four years with both friends and family who have come away saying it is one of the best meals they have had.The steaks are to die for and definitely a cut above the other similar restaurants in the area The service is impeccable keep up the good work team

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 26WEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2018

Joined a group of family members for Dinner
What a delightful evening very much enhanced by good food, very good service and of course the excellent company of family at the table.
The meals were generous in size, the food tasty and served hot.
Staff were attentive and courteous.
I would recommend this venue for an enjoyable Dining experience and also good value for money

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2018

I had a pretty good roast lamb and the husband had surf and turf. His steak was well cooked and had tonnes of prawns mussels and scallops!
Restaurant was busy with groups staying at the Inn.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Na0miNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Inn also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing