We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
11
13
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
13
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenience store prior to our arrival bit dated off street parking one night carport heater cosy tidy tv unit motel wifi ferry
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The lady at check in was incredibly friendly and chatty and got our stay off to a good start. She made sure we had everything we needed for our stay and was most accomodating to my mother who has some mobility issues. There are a few steps leading up to the rooms, but everything is easily accessible for someone walking with a cane.

The room was clean and comfortable for a night's stay and was very conveniently located to access the ferry for an early morning departure.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephanie_sandiego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed the one night. Was impressed with the size of the room and the facilities within.
It was clean and comfortable and next door to a convenience store.

Service was welcoming and friendly.
A good option when staying in Picton.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GrayMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Most travellers staying in Picton are probaly staying there because of the same thing – either coming from the ferry or going to one. We were no different – after an eventful and amazing roundtrip in South Island, it was time to go back north and we needed a place to stay the night before leaving with the early morning ferry. Therefore I opened a booking site couple of days prior to our arrival, arranged the motels by price and basically chose one from the cheaper end. We had no expectations towards the place as we arrived late and left early. Basically we just needed a clean bed for one night.

But when we arrived, we were very pleasantly surprised. It was a really nice budget motel, a bit away from the town centre. The hostess was really welcoming and friendly and the room was huge. Well, actually there were even two rooms – TV-room with ktichenette and a bedroom. And a bathroom also of course. Yes, the room was a bit outdated but everything was clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable. Despite the fact we were staying in the rooms facing the street, the noise was not a problem. If you are a light sleeper the trucks might bother you in early morning but for us it was ok. And there are also some rooms by the inner courtyard, I’m sure it’s dead quiet there. So all in all we were really happy we found this motel – for a really good price we got a lovely room and a good night’s sleep. We would definitely stay there again if ever finding ourselves in Picton.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We booked to stay here the night before a funeral. Super friendly lady let us have a late check out so we didn't have to hang around in our good clothes until the service at 2.00pm. Easy 5 minute walk to cafes/restaurants/shops. Our unit was quite old, but had been painted and refurnished recently, had a queen in one room and 2 singles in the other. Plenty of space and cosy at night. I would have liked another mirror, as the only one was in the bathroom, and with 2 guys showering and shaving I used the tv screen to do my makeup. Also the two armchairs a little small for 2 quite tall guys. Overall an excellent rate, comfortable and clean and would happily stay here again.

Room tip: The back units are lovely and quiet, I suspect the ones nearer the road would get quite noisy at times with traffic.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend!
When we arrived we were absolutely exhausted after packing our lives into a van, driving from the Waikato and crossing by ferry all in the one day. We had our dog and cat on board with us and had booked a pet-friendly room. On arrival I was met by a friendly and welcoming face. Our room was lovely - clean, tidy, comfortable; it had everything we needed and more. We were so grateful for the comfortable, snuggly bed. I had not expected a pet-friendly room to have been furnished so nicely. It was really cold in Picton that night and already dark when we got to the motel. Our room was lovely and warm. The curtains had been drawn and the heater had been switched on prior to our arrival so it was really cosy. We had thoughtfully been allocated a car park under a carport, right next door to our room, which was so helpful when unloading our pets, all of their necessities and ours.
The little chocolates on our pillow were a really nice treat too. Easy to find and great location.
Highly recommend and will stay again when in Picton.
Thank you so much!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 1PairTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews