We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bargain”

Federal Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #104 of 383 Restaurants in Fremantle
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Description: Modern Austarlian gastro pub set in the heart of historic Fremantle. The Federal Hotel has been operating since 1887 and is one of the most elegant settings in the area. Our menu is inspired by the tastes of Asia, offering tradional pub food with a twist. Our beverage list features craft and mainstream beers on tap and West Australian wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Modern Austarlian gastro pub set in the heart of historic Fremantle. The Federal Hotel has been operating since 1887 and is one of the most elegant settings in the area. Our menu is inspired by the tastes of Asia, offering tradional pub food with a twist. Our beverage list features craft and mainstream beers on tap and West Australian wines.
Reviewed 6 July 2018

The Federal Hotel is both a good pub and decent restaurant. We popped in on a Tuesday night and they were smashing out meals 2 for 1, any main on the menu. The food was tasty and came out of the kitchen quickly.

There is a good selection of beer that is reasonably priced fro Freo. A nice place to stop for a quick pint or somewhere to pop along to for a reasonably priced dinner.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J4593EUpeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

This typically Aussie pub is huge,
there are lots of separate seating areas , so there will be somewhere to suit everyone be it a quiet spot or watching the AFL on the TVs.
We didn't try the food this time but the beer was great , Rogers ale on tap which makes me happy

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Expatinozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Amazingly wonderful food, very friendly and lovely staff and beautiful historic pub. They have accommodation above and apparently it was an Irish pub before.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Overtheditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Ordered the tasting plate for a snack says it has pickled onion and got one ring spoke to the chef who did not care said the one ring is put on because its on the menu and everyone is entitled to an opinion left hungry

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2018

After a lazy morning stroll around Fremantle markets etc we called into what was known as Rosie O'Grady's, eager to discover what had taken it's place was like...As with many Hotels in the area with history, this is a really multi-sectioned establishment. After ordering our drinks and steak sandwich we chose to sit in the rear beer garden. Whilst the meal was one of the reasonably priced lunch specials, the same can't be said for the expensive glass of wine and bottle of light beer ( which is probably common for the area )...The beer garden was slightly grubby and could really do with some cleaning and sprucing up. Anyway, whilst the steak was cooked , not as I would normally have ordered it, slightly rare, it was just perfect for this steak sandwich. Served in a Turkish bread roll, the correct way really, we halved it between the two of us. Along with the piping hot chips, we certainly relished this simple but lovely meal. Whilst we won't be rushing back here, the memory of the lovely lunch will remain with us for a while...

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank douglasw571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Federal Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing