We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced!”
Review of Gerbeaud

Gerbeaud
Ranked #41 of 206 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hungarian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

If a small but delicious piece of cake and an average coffee is what you’re looking for then look no further! Cafe itself was ok I never thought the decor warranted the price of £35 for three small pieces of cake and three coffees. Service was clumsy and slow. Definitely over rated!

Thank Loud44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Gerbeaud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Loud44,

First and foremost, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude towards you for not regretting your precious time to write.

We are glad that you discovered our restaurant and decided to give it a go. We would like you to know that we always serve the highest quality of the ingredients. We sincerely hope that we will have the chance of greeting you again one day in the future
We genuinely wish that you enjoyed every minute of the time you spent with us, and we would be honoured to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Gerbeaud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 7,282 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Visited during February 2018, we didn’t have time to stay as long as we’d have liked to, but the cakes & coffee were an absolute treat! The surroundings are beautiful too, and the staff extremely pleasant and efficient. If we return to Budapest we’ll definitely pay another, this time longer, visit.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank cakefan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Gerbeaud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Cakefan2016,

First and foremost, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude towards you for not regretting your precious time to write down your opinion about us.
We truly appreciate your compliments on our cakes and coffee. Furthermore, it is great that our professional staff could contribute to a pleasant visit in our café, we are proud of working with such a talented team.
Thank you once again for your kind words and high rating. We would be thrilled if you chose us again in the nearest future, we cannot wait to see you soon!

All the best,
Gerbeaud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This place is beautiful! We came there during the spring festival and sat outside in the sun having a lovely breakfast. Nice desserts as well!

Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Gerbeaud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Anna J,

Please let us thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others here, on TripAdvisor.

Gerbeaud is one of the oldest and most popular cafés in Budapest, and it has a unique atmosphere in an outstanding location. We are happy that you were so satisfied with the breakfast we served to you. Moreover, it is great for us to read that yo deemed the dessert nice.

We genuinely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future, we will wait you with warm welcome!

Warm regards,
Gerbeaud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Oh what a treat this place is! Not only beautiful inside but the food is superb! The cake and ice creams are magnificent! Don’t count the calories! Fantastic service but a little expensive but you would expect that from such an elegant establishment.

Thank 253Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Gerbeaud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear 253Caroline,

For a start, allow us to express our most sincere gratitude to you for not regretting your time to write down and share your kind words with us on TripAdvisor.

We are so glad that you found Gerbeaud a wonderful place, we hope that you enjoyed every single minute you spent here, and every warm sip you had. It is nice to see that we could pleasantly surprise you with the quality of ice creams and cakes. Furthermore, we are grateful for your compliments on the great service that we provide to our visitors.

We genuinely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future, we will wait you with warm welcome!

Kind regards,
Gerbeaud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The Dobos cake is said to be the thing in the Gerbeaud café. I would recommend choosing the cake selection as this will expose you to a broader variety of Hungarian desserts. Not to be rude to the locals who love this place, please try to wear something nice and respectful.

Thank MEN45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Gerbeaud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear MEN45,
We would like to express our gratitude for coming to our café and sharing your honest and kind review about us here on TripAdvisor.
Gerbeaud is one of the oldest, yet most popular cafés in Budapest. We hope that you enjoyed every single minute you spent here, and every single bite you had. It felt particularly great that you highlighted the heavenly tasty cakes we offer to our visitors the wonderful.
We would be glad if we could be that lucky to be your hosts someday in the future again.
Best regards,
Gerbeaud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbeaud also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gerbeaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing