We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Budapest City(Budapest)
US$154
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$310
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
US$174
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
US$282
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$219
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$267
US$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$872
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$384
US$343
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
49
59
46
12
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
59
46
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet side streetheating systemcomplimentary bottle of winestaff was extremely helpfulperfect locationgellert sparooms were very cleanlong weekendunderground stationlovely hotelwalking distancethe hotel staffminute walkyogurtbastionmashinecons
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the market hall and just across the Liberty Bridge from the Gellert Spa. In a very quiet side street so no noise at night. Our room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was huge even if a little cold, but we spoke to reception and were immediately provided with a very efficient electric heater. Large and varied buffet breakfast in the lobby. Staff were extremely kind and helpful, even providing pain killers when my husband twisted his ankle. Absolutely great value for money.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Judith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR_Manager, Vezető at Bastion Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Judith I,

May we start with expressing our thankfulness for taking the time on writing us a review.

It is a great honour to learn you chose our hotel as your accommodation during your stay in Budapest. We are delighted you were satisfied with both the location and your room. It is also amazing to know our staff were able to solve your problem easily. We always try to provide our dear guests with a tasty and variable breakfast, thank you for appreciating that. We are really sorry for the incident happened to your husband, but it is good to know that our staff totally met you expectations.

We hope you will return to our hotel soon again.

Warm regards,
Bastion Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2018

A really bad hotel I do not recommend.
It looks like a 1 star hotel. The beds were terrible, towels were torn, the floor was full of holes covered by carpet, the extra bed was very noisy.
Located in a good place but the hotel does not correspond with the pictures provided.

Room Tip: Never a 4 star hotel!!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Bastion Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Juju M,

We take high value in every guest feedback given, so we are grateful to you for taking the time to share yours on TripAdvisor.

To begin with the positive parts, it is great that you were pleased with our great location, we hope that you could take full advantage of it and explore the city as you hoped to. At the same time, we are so sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the floor at your room. We are aware that some of our rooms need improving and these are in our plans to correct as soon as possible. Also, we regret to read that you found the beds and the towels provided a bit old. As for the extra bed’s noisiness we are going to take the appropriate measures, possibly change it to a different one for the future.

We do really hope that you will give us another chance and will choose to stay at our hotel again in the future.

Best regards,
Bastion Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2018

When we arrived late evening, we could hardly see it was a hotel. Not very welcoming.

First night we got totally wrong room! No compensation, transferred to a new room. But this one was not clean, pee on the floor behind the toilette, carpet was full off spots and dust here and there.

The location was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lene Nathalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Bastion Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Lene Nathalie E,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking your precious time to share your honest review with us.

We have to tell you we are absolutely sad to hear that overall we did not manage to meet your expectations. Please know, your comments are highly appreciated as they help us a lot in better understanding your needs to be able to constantly improve the quality of our product and services.

We do really hope that you will give us another chance and will choose to stay at our hotel again in the future.

Best regards,
Bastion Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Only positive thing of this hotel is their staff on reception and start location for walking around.

1. you can’t park a car there. Only option is to park in garage of other hotel about 200m away for 25€ per day.
2. Reception is actually in half basement and this small place is also used for breakfast, probably it will happen in the morning that you will have to wait for your table, and if you are in the checkout time people with suitcases will walk around your table.
3. furniture in room is old and walls need to be repainted. When walking around the room, floor make an unpleasant noice.
4. heating radiator’s are not working!!! so for heating the room you must use air condition and listen the noise all night long or sleep in cold room.
5. Bad is hard as rock and uncomfortable
6. Cable TV reach 3 or 4 German programs and few Hungarian, so unused for most guests.
etc.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gregor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Bastion Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Gregor R,

We take high value in every guest feedback given, so we are grateful to you for taking the time to share yours on TripAdvisor.
To begin with the positive parts, it is great that you were pleased with our reception staff as well as our great location. At the same time, we are so sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the parking possibilities and with our breakfast area. Also, we regret to read that you found the furniture a bit old, we are aware of the fact that some things are need to be fixed in our hotel, but we are working extraordinarily hard to be able to make the necessary improvements. As for the radiator we are going to take the appropriate measures. Moreover, we are extremely sorry that your bed was not to your liking.
We do really hope that you will give us another chance and will choose to stay at our hotel again in the future.

Best regards,
Bastion Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Stuff is friendly and service minded. But that's like the only thing that was good. The room we stayed in were cold and in poor condition. The staircase is freezing cold and small. The elevator is so small, there is only room for two and one suitcase, the joints in the bathroom were yellow, shower curtain did not go all the way down to the floor and the beds were so hard that I could hardly sleep without waking up when I turned around at night. Breakfast was OK but not more. Coffee was NOT good. They could have had fresh coffee from a brewer and not a maschine. Don't stay here unless you are fine with a standard of maximum 3 stars. It is not worthy 4 stars. Maximum 3.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Bastion Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Nellie O,

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write down your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for sharing your candid opinion with us.
To begin with the positive parts, it makes us really happy that you highlighted our friendly and service minded staff, they really deserve the recognition. Also, we are delighted that you were satisfied with the breakfast too. At the same time, we have to tell you we are absolutely sad to hear that overall we did not manage to meet your expectations. Please know, your comments are highly appreciated as they help us a lot in better understanding your needs to be able to constantly improve the quality of our product and services.
We would be honored if you chose our hotel again on your next visit to Budapest.

Kind regards,
Bastion Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews