We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Octavian

Terrible experience; never coming back.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 5, 2019
We've initially been given a room at the basement level (-1), but we asked for a different one, since it was quite dirty and had a strong odour of vinegar and dirty feet. On our way to the second room, as the elevator's doors opened, we felt that the hallway wasn't properly ventilated. It was a predominant smell of dust and old carpets, probably because of an ancient vacuum cleaner which seemed to have never been emptied. In the second room, it was impossible to breathe due to the same static atmosphere filled with lots of dust and cigarette smoke. Looking for the source of the smell, the radiator was packed with filth.
The bathroom had the smell of a public toilet, had no window and the ventilation wasn't working; we also had no toiletries, grey towels and, on top of that, we found Spider-Man's brother looking out for us.
The breakfast was poor, with yogurt that expired the next day and not many choices.
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
Trip type: Traveled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱15,464
₱14,758
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱12,485
₱10,994
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,994
1.3 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Room service
₱16,891
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Pool
₱5,975
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱8,988
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,701
1.4 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,941
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱7,872
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,161
2.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱6,844
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱9,303
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,239
2.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Pool
Coworking zone
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱2,930
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Budapest
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveler rating
455
879
273
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
455
879
273
66
36
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is well located to the river and close to many attractions,however the gentleman on front desk duties should up skill his P R approach to his guests.We found him to be less than helpful with simple requests for additional pillows etc.Our room had a very distinctive smell of damp,,and the coffee making facilities were not very practical to use,also paper cups were
Totally impracticable to use.Breakfast was mediocre and did not meet the four star rating of these premises.There is a bar on premises however we prefered the small
Bar directly across from the hotel entrance

.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank cathychris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

Perfect hotel for a Budapest City-tour just on a stone's throw from the Szecheny lanchid bridge over the Danube and the Clark Adam square, Presidential Palace, etc.
The Apor Peter utca 3 is a small "street" in two levels with public stairs without any car traffic.
Hotel is owned by an Austrian hotel group and has a very pleasant, professional and helpfull staff.
Rooms comfortable according international standards.
Very good breakfast buffet.
Unfortunaly no oat-milk yet.
Own parking garage in basement.
Taxi-service/shutlle from/to airport (ca. 45 minutes / 35 Euro)

Next to hotel is the famous "Pater Marcus" Belgian Abbey Restaurant.
Possible dinning outside and in original basement.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

This hotel is in a good position on the Buda side of the river with some good restaurants nearby. The breakfast was adequate but the scrambled egg would appear to have been an omelette broken up and apart from the first morning there were no fresh rolls only 'toast' bread. Free coffee and cake was advertised in the afternoon so we decided to try it one day but there was no cake only dry biscuits and tea and coffee had run out too.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

What can i say about this hotel. It is in a superb location on the Buda side a lot quieter than Pest but I liked that. Very close to Buda Castle, Fishermans Bastian etc. The hotel breakfast was varied with both hot and cold choices. Eggs and sausage were on the menu as well as croissants, fresh bread, yoghurts, cereal, fresh fruit and more. I found the reception staff to be very helpful and polite who dealt with any problems we had with great professionalism. We had a roomj with a balcony on the 5th floor. The bathroom had a large mirror that lit up which was great for applying makeup even though there is another mirror in the bedroom near the patio doors.
The little bar across the road from the hotel is a gem, beer quite cheap and the host very welcoming. We would love to return to Budapest in the future and once again stay in this superb hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
3  Thank Tenajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

The Carlton Hotel is in a very nice location on the Buda side of the river. A path up the hill starts just outside the hotel door. It is at a great location to do anything near Buda Castle. It is also very close (less than a block) from the Chain Bridge. The included breakfast had a wide variety of options including eggs (not cooked to order).

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PtoTheZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews