We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ronald P
Helsinki, Finland

A perfect hotel for a Budapest City-tour

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 14, 2019
Perfect hotel for a Budapest City-tour just on a stone's throw from the Szecheny lanchid bridge over the Danube and the Clark Adam square, Presidential Palace, etc.
The Apor Peter utca 3 is a small "street" in two levels with public stairs without any car traffic.
Hotel is owned by an Austrian hotel group and has a very pleasant, professional and helpfull staff.
Rooms comfortable according international standards.
Very good breakfast buffet.
Unfortunaly no oat-milk yet.
Own parking garage in basement.
Taxi-service/shutlle from/to airport (ca. 45 minutes / 35 Euro)

Next to hotel is the famous "Pater Marcus" Belgian Abbey Restaurant.
Possible dinning outside and in original basement.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱15,373
₱10,133
  • Expedia.com
    ₱14,466
  • Hotels.com
    ₱14,450
  • Vio.com
    ₱10,114
0.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱8,385
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,579
  • Vio.com
    ₱7,575
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,570
1.4 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱8,966
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,702
  • Vio.com
    ₱7,770
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,691
1.3 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Room service
₱9,316
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,623
  • Agoda.com
    ₱7,979
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,613
0.2 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₱10,300
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,292
  • Vio.com
    ₱7,517
  • Hotels.com
    ₱10,281
0.7 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱6,693
  • Expedia.com
    ₱6,730
  • Vio.com
    ₱5,940
  • Hotels.com
    ₱6,589
2.0 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₱4,467
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,358
  • Vio.com
    ₱4,032
  • Hotels.com
    ₱4,353
1.7 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
₱7,766
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,567
  • Vio.com
    ₱6,177
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,557
2.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Pool
₱4,928
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,447
  • Vio.com
    ₱4,315
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,441
1.9 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Room service
₱9,982
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,609
  • Trip.com
    ₱8,572
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,598
2.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Budapest
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveler rating
455
879
273
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
455
879
273
66
36
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2019

This hotel is in a good position on the Buda side of the river with some good restaurants nearby. The breakfast was adequate but the scrambled egg would appear to have been an omelette broken up and apart from the first morning there were no fresh rolls only 'toast' bread. Free coffee and cake was advertised in the afternoon so we decided to try it one day but there was no cake only dry biscuits and tea and coffee had run out too.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

What can i say about this hotel. It is in a superb location on the Buda side a lot quieter than Pest but I liked that. Very close to Buda Castle, Fishermans Bastian etc. The hotel breakfast was varied with both hot and cold choices. Eggs and sausage were on the menu as well as croissants, fresh bread, yoghurts, cereal, fresh fruit and more. I found the reception staff to be very helpful and polite who dealt with any problems we had with great professionalism. We had a roomj with a balcony on the 5th floor. The bathroom had a large mirror that lit up which was great for applying makeup even though there is another mirror in the bedroom near the patio doors.
The little bar across the road from the hotel is a gem, beer quite cheap and the host very welcoming. We would love to return to Budapest in the future and once again stay in this superb hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
3  Thank Tenajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

The Carlton Hotel is in a very nice location on the Buda side of the river. A path up the hill starts just outside the hotel door. It is at a great location to do anything near Buda Castle. It is also very close (less than a block) from the Chain Bridge. The included breakfast had a wide variety of options including eggs (not cooked to order).

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PtoTheZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

When we first arrived the room allocated, smelt of animal (dog). We had to request a move because of this and the staff were not that understanding. We were moved to another room down the bottom of the hotel. Was ok, at least no smell. We found the staff quite rude and not very helpful. The breakfast was good and afternoon tea was good. The location was ok on the Buda side, but limited restaurants in the area. Pub across the road is good for a beer and local wine. There are a few steps to negotiate to get to the entrance of the hotel

Room tip: Ask for a room that doesn’t have dog smell
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Storersas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here in June the hotel is nice and in a great location just a short walk in 2 Budapest! The rooms are kept clean and tidy! The breakfast wasn’t great but it was ok! 4 the price i think it’s definitely worth it

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank roberthY2619MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews