We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PtoTheZ
Boston, Massachusetts

NIce Hotel on the Buda side

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 9, 2019
The Carlton Hotel is in a very nice location on the Buda side of the river. A path up the hill starts just outside the hotel door. It is at a great location to do anything near Buda Castle. It is also very close (less than a block) from the Chain Bridge. The included breakfast had a wide variety of options including eggs (not cooked to order).
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱15,373
₱10,133
  • Expedia.com
    ₱14,465
  • Hotels.com
    ₱14,450
  • Vio.com
    ₱10,114
0.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱8,364
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,579
  • Vio.com
    ₱7,575
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,570
1.4 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱8,966
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,702
  • Agoda.com
    ₱7,530
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,691
1.3 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Room service
₱9,316
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,624
  • Agoda.com
    ₱7,979
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,613
0.2 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₱10,300
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,292
  • Vio.com
    ₱7,517
  • Hotels.com
    ₱10,281
0.7 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱6,693
  • Expedia.com
    ₱6,730
  • Vio.com
    ₱5,940
  • Hotels.com
    ₱6,589
2.0 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₱4,467
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,358
  • Vio.com
    ₱4,058
  • Hotels.com
    ₱4,353
1.7 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
₱7,766
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,568
  • Vio.com
    ₱6,177
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,557
2.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Pool
₱4,925
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,445
  • Vio.com
    ₱4,315
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,441
1.9 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Room service
₱9,982
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,610
  • Priceline
    ₱9,139
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,598
2.1 km from Carlton Hotel Budapest
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Budapest
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveler rating
455
879
273
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
455
879
273
66
36
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2019

When we first arrived the room allocated, smelt of animal (dog). We had to request a move because of this and the staff were not that understanding. We were moved to another room down the bottom of the hotel. Was ok, at least no smell. We found the staff quite rude and not very helpful. The breakfast was good and afternoon tea was good. The location was ok on the Buda side, but limited restaurants in the area. Pub across the road is good for a beer and local wine. There are a few steps to negotiate to get to the entrance of the hotel

Room tip: Ask for a room that doesn’t have dog smell
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Storersas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here in June the hotel is nice and in a great location just a short walk in 2 Budapest! The rooms are kept clean and tidy! The breakfast wasn’t great but it was ok! 4 the price i think it’s definitely worth it

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank roberthY2619MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

We loved the hotel: the room was tidy, the breakfast was having everything you need, staff was always friendly and helpful, great location close to the Castle and Pest side attractions. The only thing we wish for was bigger room but I guess in Europe cities all less than 5 star hotels share that same issue.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alex30031975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

This hotel is in a great location. We were able to walk to the chain bridge within minutes. It is located on the Buda side but Pest is a few minutes away. The neighborhood is lovely, quiet and clean. Buda Castle is very close by.
Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, nothing special.
The staff were friendly, room was clean. Very convenient location to enjoy Budapest.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingWays2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

The Carton is an older 4 star hotel located on a quiet street on the Buda side, 5 min walk from the Chain Bridge and the funicular to the castle.
Rooms are of average size and well kept. Wi-Fi is very good and they have complimentary bottles of water in the fridge.
Breakfast was good with all of the usual options, but no bacon (only sausages and scrambled eggs) and a large variety of breads. Coffee was very good (although most people used the automatic machine, but the other coffee available was must better).
Complimentary water and coffee in the lounge.
You can book tours at the reception and pay in euros.
There are many restaurants in this area such as the Pater Marcus Abbey (right next door), Hundayi Etterem and Idiko´s Kitchen as well as the Meat Boutique.
Across the small alley from the hotel there's a bar that has the cheapest beer that we found and the owners are very friendly.
Nice to have a cold beer or drink at the end of a hot day before returning to the hotel.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank c0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews