We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every bite brings a smile”
Review of Salt

Salt
Ranked #804 of 3,754 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: US$60 - US$66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: The restaurant received its first Michelin Star in September 2021. Salt Budapest was created on the foundations of the traditional Hungarian cuisine, where Chef Szilard Toth’s kitchen herbs and wild plants play an important role. Majority of these is collected by the chef himself in the countryside, the rest is produced by farmers. Everything in the dishes is freshly pickled and fermented. Our poultry products come from Szilard’s own family meat manufactury. Bread is a prominent part of the Hungarian food culture, and it is baked and served by us every day. Alongside the meals, friendly hospitality defines the time and atmosphere of a meal spent together as if it was just a family dinner in the countryside. The unique interior also contributes to this experience: the Chef’s table stands in the middle of the restaurant so that guests could easily have a few words with the hosts. The two hosts – the Chef and the restaurant manager, Mate Boldizsar – often serve the dishes themselves.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can’t think when I last wrote a review. Maybe never. But here I am. I am in Budapest for work, and this is my last night here. I am staying nearby and was lucky enough to score a table when someone canceled last minute and I just happened to be asking about a reservation.

In short this was one of the best meals of my life. Every bite of food brings a smile. I actually have tear in my eye as I write this thinking about the totality of the experience. Every bite is so carefully constructed. You can feel and taste the forethought that goes into it all. Butter that’s been fermented for two weeks. Pork raised on the chef’s farm. Mushrooms foraged by the staff. Wine pairings that include a water pairing. An herbal tea that you “make” with dessert using a single leaf. Even the dishes with ingredients I would not ordinarily gravitate towards (eg goats milk, lamb, etc) stand out as extraordinary. The dishes are small with only 2-3 bites each, but there are 15 of them, so get over the fact that you can’t have more of that lamb dish. Be grateful you got to try it all and just imagine how good the next dish will be.

But what makes Salt so very enjoyable is that while the food is very serious, there is an easiness about the experience that makes it all feel…. homey. At some level I hope Salt stays with “just” a single Michelin star. Anything more risks propelling this gem into the big leagues where too often chefs play defense and the experience becomes stiff and contrived.

It’s a real price tag here (especially for Hungary) but man oh man is it worth it.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Sherpa57636244932
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT, Owner at Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sherpa57636244932,

Thank you so much for sharing such a detailed review. We appreciate it and we are also glad that you had a great time in our restaurant!

See you again soon,
team SALT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a disappointment. We have expected so much more from SALT, when we made our booking among other fine dining restaurants. Small tables as if you were in a café. A tasting menu bursting with flavors – was not the case! Many of the servings tasted very similar and was overfloated with acidity, fermentation, smoke, and flowers. The fantasy must be only in the presentation by a waiter babbling away in a non-understandable English. The servings was not nearby the photos from the restaurant! A ridiculous millimeter serving of a forest mushroom on a stick, a leaf with “raindrops” to a large greasy bread (at least that was tasteful) served with Hungarian wine paring not exceeding 2-3 mouthful (less than a winetasting) for the first 5 servings. My husband got gracefully a little more in the glass, when empty after 3 servings – but no refill for the lady at the table. Hilariously came a cup of very special salty water dropping a geranium leaf to be some of drink. No rocket science there – we have done that ourselves at home? The ecological Hungarian white wines – only one red – was very sharp and especially the last for the fruit garden was more like an apple cider. At the end of “the session” we mentioned our dissatisfaction, and the waitress had the nerve to ask, whether we were “used to fine dining”. What an insult and highly unprofessional!! We did not come all the way from Denmark to be treated like that – and yes this was certainly not NOMA or Geranium, if you know these fabulous restaurants/chefs.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HelleH289
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Visited few times since the opening. I knew at the first visit it would get a Michelin star. It has just received one in August. This is a cool little place with a unique take of some of the Hungarian dishes. The 15 course tasting menu with wine pairing is the way to go. Great staff and service and very reasonable prices. It is a treat. Don’t miss it.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank SharingIsCaring2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT, Owner at Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear SharingIsCaring2013,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review, we really appreciate it!

See you again soon,
tem SALT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2021

Every dish was crafted by highly skilled chefs and each was a piece of art.
The Hungarian wine pairing was excellent and really showed off how great a wine country Hungary is.
The setting was cozy and tastefully decorated. No doubt this restaurant is reaching for the stars and they truly deserve at least one.

We hesitate to give Salt 5 stars as the music was a bit too loud which made it difficult to hear the waiters' presentation of the food which in English already seemed a bit insecure. We don't expect perfect English, so elaborating the written menu received upon arrival would have helped us a lot.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sorenhviid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT, Owner at Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sorenhviid,

Thank you so much for the kind words! When coming next time and you think that the music feels a bit loud for you, do not hesitate to ask our staff to turn it down a bit :).

See you again soon,
team SALT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2021

It was our first fine dining experience, so while I cannot say how it is compared to others, I can fully recommend Salt as your first try! The evening was very charming, and while standards and the sophistication of the plates are clearly sky high, the mood and atmosphere is still relaxing, welcoming, and friendly. The plates have lots of great ideas, unusual and surprising combinations, and they are beautifully composed and presented. All in all, it was a great evening, and we really enjoyed it, thanks!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 792p_terk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT, Owner at Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 792p_terk,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We were happy to hear that you had a great time in our restaurant.

See you again soon,
team SALT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.