We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for hipster beards”
Review of Dno Pytle

Dno Pytle
Ranked #4,184 of 5,787 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: German, Pub
Neighborhood: Nové Město (New Town)
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Nové Město (New Town)
Reviewed November 12, 2016

We ventured to a good handful of pubs and bars on our trip around Czech Republic and this place was by far the most unwelcoming of the lot.

Upon arrival, we were met by distrustful stares from the many bearded hipsters who appeared to be living there, then we were left for a good 5 minutes looking like lemons whilst the people working behind the bar pretended to look busy whilst ignoring our obvious attempts to order drinks.

Maybe we missed the dress code of "must wear lumbersexual beard to be a patron of this establishment".

In hindsight though, it would have been best to not have been served anything at all as that way we could have invested our money into another bar which sold something resembling beer as whatever hipster drinks were on offer in this establishment certainly should never be consumed orally.

The bar was clean though, maybe they found an alternative (improved) use for the liquid refreshments they serve to people with suitable face-furniture.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2016

Pretentious is being kind when describing this ‘hostelry’. It appears to be an alehouse, in the English sense. Do not be deceived. The bar staff will ignore you whilst they rush around impressing their closed set of pseudo intellectual friends. You are not welcome if you are not part of their insufferable circle.

Czech beer is excellent and they ignore this self evident truth.

This establishment, limply, attempts to recreate the best of the CAMRA pubs in England. It fails miserably on every count. Most notably on their lack of welcome to anyone outside their circle of shaven pated, imperial lipped smugsters.

They ignore the finest Czech beer traditions to serve vile, ersatz copies of real ale. The beer was awful. Really bloody awful. They are catering for their friend's egos, not lovers of really fine ale.

Avoid and go to almost any other bar in this part of Prague.

We are lovers of beer, not pretentious preening and posturing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Z, Owner at Dno Pytle, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Hi Mick,
there must be a mistake somewhere, since we never attempted neither to actually serve Real Ales (although we love them), or to recreate CAMRA pubs (although we love them). We don't even have any beer pump engine installed. Are you sure you review is targeted correctly?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Quite new craft beer pub specialized on the German ungespundet beers and Czech beers from the best craft breweries. Large pub. Polite staff. Near to the other craft beer pub Beer Geek.

Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the very best bars you will find in Prague if you fancy a good German beer or more specifically a Bavarian beer.
We had read up about this bar before we left Liverpool to start our holidays and we couldn't wait to go here.
A cool looking bar with a nice pubby interior and plenty of seating options,we had a study of the beers on offer which is really good.
We opted to have some beer's from Bavaria namely Augustiner Brau and this is a beer we have enjoyed on a couple of holidays to Munich and in here was served in tip top condition,we just chilled out and enjoyed the wonderful bar we were in and also our delicious beer's.
This bar is also very popular and on our visit was really starting to get busy with a cracking atmosphere.
We also sampled a few local brews and these were also served in great condition.
This is a very easy place to locate by jumping tram 11 to stop Vinohradska Trznice were you walk down Vinohradska were you will find this great bar.
Opening hours are;
Monday to Saturday,5pm till midnight.
Sunday,7pm till midnight.
A fantastic beer bar and wellworth checking out.

1  Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

I would like to give better valuation to this place, but still has lot of space for improvement. So first the good points and then few negative ones. Nice choice of beers from Czech and Bavarian small or microbreweries. As the place lacks own kitchen or offers only few sausages they offer you pizza and other staff from the pizzeria next door and don't charge you anything extra for this. You may bring literally anything from the next door which makes quite nice pizza. Now few negative ones. The service is bit chaotic, forgetting the orders, there was lack of glass when we sat there so we had to wait for glass being washed and we have received our bears separately, let's say from the firts beer for the first person to the 4th beer for the fourth person at the table it took more than 10 minutes as they were constantly without glass for beer. I think quite strange for a beer bar where you would expect high consumption of beer, especially in Prague. And the last point is that they had absolutely no non-alcoholic drinks, so when we asked for some non-alcoholic we were told: "Sorry, just beer or shots...", but you may bring non-alcoholic from the pizza next door, which is at least some solution. As we went primarily for beer we have enjoyed trying several different beers from different breweries. Must try for beer geek.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sagitario1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dno Pytle also viewed

 

Been to Dno Pytle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing