We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Bakeshop

Bakeshop
Ranked #3 of 32 Bakeries in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$70
Cuisines: International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Bakeshop is a unique family bakery placed in the heart of Prague. You can enjoy daily freshly baked pastry, salads, fresh juices, pies, cakes, croissants, macaroons, soups, quiches, toastini, hot breakfast, coffee and much more.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

We walked past it while randomly roaming the streets and popped in to take a look at the cookies/baked items. We came by for breakfast the next morning and have since been coming every day.
The chocolate croissants were chock full, freshly pressed orange juice was just that. We've since had be jot breakfast, the quiches with salad - the olive oil/basil "pesto"/marinade(?) they put on top is also very tasty!

I later read some reviews about it being confusing to order, which I might have felt the first time I stepped in, because there was more than just what was in the "display cases". There's a chalk board on one wall with specials, a printed board with more of their permanent offerings and paper menus with details of the hot breakfast.

The staff was quite friendly considering how busy they were at the times we visited. So you'd need o be patient.

Thank Pranav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Bakeshop, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

Dear Pranav, We are happy to hear that you returned for breakfast several times during your Prague stay. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed the baked goods and freshly squeezed juice. Please visit our bakery again when you are back in Old Town, Prague. Kind regards, Carolyn Hofmanova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

We visited the Bakeshop three times during our visit due to the fact that we loved it. There is an extensive selection of pastries, cakes and cookies as well as interesting light lunches. The coffee is great.
Staff are friendly and welcoming and service is quick even during busy times. A must visit - you will be pleased you did even if you gain a few pounds in the process

Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Bakeshop, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Dear Tracey, Thank you for visiting our bakery in the Old Town. We are glad that the food and service kept you coming back during your Prague stay. Happy travels, Carolyn Hofmanova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere for a quick lunch and came across the Bakeshop. Staff were friendly and a good range of food and cakes ! Informal relaxed dining . Enjoyed some Thai Chicken with a Greek salad which was very good. Reasonable prices based on weight .

Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Bakeshop, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Dear Chris, Thank you for your compliments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your chicken and salad and found the service friendly. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Carolyn Hofmanova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

We went to two locations twice each for a very good coffee and.... amazing Linzer cookies and Meringues! Also tried the pain au chocolat (chocolate croissant) but should have had it earlier in the day when it was fresh.

Try the location near Kampa island as well.

Thank Hungry Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Bakeshop, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Dear Hungry Traveller, We aim to make everyone's experience as happy and satisfying as possible and yes, there are now two locations, the main bakery in the Old Town at Kozi 1 and the very petite Bakeshop Little Bakery at 22 U Luzickeho Seminare, Mala Strana (close to the Kafka Museum). Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Carolyn Hofmanova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

The pastries are fresh and beyond delicious, not to mention they have a large selection. They can get busy, but the service was fast and the location is great. I’m sure there are other great breakfast places in Prague, but we found this place hard to beat as a great way to start our day!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Apollo_Diablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Bakeshop, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear Apollo, Thank you for recommending us for breakfast, we are delighted that you visited us frequently during your stay in Prague. Kind regards, Carolyn Hofmanova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakeshop also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing