We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
716
54
19
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
716
54
19
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 799 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2020

TRAGIC NEWS

Sadly , This magnificent venue was destroyed by a major and disasterous bush-fire on Kangaroo Island in early January, 2020.
Hopefully this classy resort, with its great facilities, can be re-built at some future time.

Date of stay: January 2020
8  Thank noosabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 24, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is gorgeous, and the location is even more so. It’s absolutely stunning. But what makes this hotel extra special is the staff. They are all incredibly professional yet friendly. They made our stay feel like home. I can’t say enough things about the people who work here and go out of their way to cater to your every need with a smile on their face. Thank you SOL for an unforgettable stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Khaled H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

Epitome of luxury in a beautifully isolated location overlooking the ocean. We visited recently mid December and would recommend a winter stay here to take advantage of curling up near the funky fireplace, with a few good books to devour.....oh and a glass of local wine!

Date of stay: December 2019
3  Thank SusannaB973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 30, 2019 via mobile

This was the 3rd Bailie's property we have visited. The location is spectacular, up on a cliff overlooking the Great Southern Ocean. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Tours are generally well planned and the guides are good.

The food, however, didn't compare to the other two lodges, except for the occasional meal. They need to up their game in this area.

We stayed in room 3, which is one of the farthest from the lobby and dining room. It was about a 7-minute uphill walk, so asking for a room closer to the lobby makes sense if you don't want the slog.

Regarding touring, while we saw lots of koalas in the reserve, kangaroos are only seen at dusk in one area because of the thick bush covering most of the island. We went to the kangaroo viewing in the rain and it wasn't a particularly appealing tour. The tour was offered another night, but I heard that it was crowded and a challenge to see the kangaroos without the large number people alarming them. The cliff walk was spectacular, but my husband has balance issues, so he found it very challenging. Finally, the tour to see the fur seals was very good, but cold and windy when I went.

Still, this is a place not to miss, and I suspect Southern Ocean Lodge is one of best places to stay on the island. We don't regret going. It's peaceful and lovely.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank marshaf2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 29, 2019

We learned of Southern Ocean Lodge through Travel + Leisure Top 100 list. As people who usually stay at city hotels on points, we were skeptical at how Southern Ocean Lodge could be worth the money, but we decided to take the plunge. And boy, were our high expectations exceeded. The whole time you're there, it feels like you're staying at a large family home, rather than some corporate hotel. The environment is very relaxed - I started going to breakfast in my slippers! The staff is so friendly and welcoming and gets to know you and your preferences, even for the relatively short length of stays. The property is breathtaking - you feel as if there is no one else in the world. The room is comfortable and unique, with everything that we needed and didn't even realize we needed. The food was a bit...interesting, but they try to source locally and in season, so this means you won't have the variety you would expect if they were cooking less sustainably. I highly recommend three nights - two nights would just not be enough.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sarahewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews