We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Virginia R
Orinda, California, United States

One of our favorite hotels-ever!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 22, 2019
Southern Ocean Lodge has the most amazing setting and views. This stunning hotel offers impeccable service and amazing food in a relaxed atmosphere. Everyone on the staff is wonderful, the guides, Shauna and Emily, the wait staff, Jasmine, Arthur, Natalie, Radi. (I am afraid i can't name everyone-they were all terrific) Stuart who drove us from the airport gave a perfect introduction to the island and the luxury lodge. The housekeepers are delightful and do an amazing job. The staff has wonderful way of making you feel at home. In addition to learning your name, they really get to know each guest. The rooms are wonderful, spacious and private. The bedding is really comfortable. Each room has a nice "mini bar" all included and filled with treats. The meals are varied and plentiful, so we really didn't need any of the treats in the room. The outings are planned to take advantage of the best of Kangaroo Island and the hotel is located conveniently to the park and conservation areas, so you won't spend your whole visit riding to the attractions. The guides are knowledgeable and personable. The wildlife on the property is wonderful, from our room we could see Osprey and an echindna, from the common area we saw a wallaby and a variety of birds, the property has beautiful designated walks where we could see even more wildlife, the Guana, Kangaroos, and more wallabies, as well as beautiful wildflowers and breathtaking coastline. If you are a wildlife lover you will really enjoy the outings, so many koalas, kangaroos and birds. You will not regret splurging on the Southern Ocean Lodge.
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Winter Days in Style
Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Dolphin and Seal Spotting from the Balcony
Booking.com
₱5,613
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    ₱5,610
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,610
82.1 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱7,855
₱5,964
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₱7,855
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,855
82.8 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
aurora ozone hotel kangaroo island External Flinders
Booking.com
₱7,594
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱6,447
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,227
83.1 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱6,882
  • StayForLong
    ₱7,262
  • Algotels
83.1 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Booking.com
₱9,647
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    ₱9,440
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,440
83.4 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱7,629
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱7,626
  • Vio.com
88.3 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₱5,961
  • eDreams
    ₱5,964
89.0 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
76.4 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
76.9 km from Southern Ocean Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Karatta
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
717
54
19
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
717
54
19
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 800 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2019

I’m writing this review tp praise The Southern Ocean Lodge on Hanson Bay on Kangaroo Island, off the southern coast of Australia. My wife and I spent 5 days there this past October and it was absolutely wonderful. It’s quite remote and requires an hour van ride to get there from Kingscote airport. We arrived at SOL close to 8 P.M. after a LONG day of flights and were understandably tired, but appreciated Lucky greeting us at the door and arranging to have our bags sent to our room. She made me a tasty martini and she and Jess oriented us in the great room, in front of a fire, as to what activities we could take advantage of during our stay. They then got us settled in for dinner. What a welcome after such an exhausting day! The food was excellent, and the wait staff were friendly and professional. Rachel, Ellin (Ms. Sweden), Amin and Jasmin were particularly pleasant to have serving us. The front desk was wonderful as well, and I’d like to single out Sally, Jess, and Matt for terrific service. We enjoyed everything from an educational hike and slide show of the area, to excursions out to wildlife areas to enjoy seeing koalas and kangaroos (Kangaroo Island after all). I even got to drive us out to see a raptor show and a wildlife zoo, my first time driving on the left side of the road! The rooms are lovely and it is always nice to wake up to an ocean view. It truly was the perfect mix of relaxed elegance in natural surroundings. I have to add a true start and finish to this wonderful experience at SOL. I first corresponded with Claudia, Senior Reservations Consultant for Baillie Lodges, about details regarding the weather to expect and what kinds of clothes to bring, activities to take part in…and the like. She was very helpful and responsive and was spot-on. Unfortunately I left my iPad in our room and Claudia followed up on it and got me in touch with Theodora, from Reception, who had it sent back to me in Los Angeles. Gratis, I might add. A class act to be sure. Bottom line, you would be hard-pressed to find a better holiday destination. The Southern Ocean Lodge is a gem to be experienced. Are there 5½ stars?

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bvanlent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 9, 2019 via mobile

It's rare that I'm speechless but this place is beyond words. The whole experience from welcome onwards is 10 star..nothing is too much trouble. My husband doesn't like cheese or vinegar (random I know) so each meAl they adapted the existing menu for him. Champagne for n arrival as it was his birthday . The trips they organised were fabulous and ticked every box. Yes it's expensive but worth every penny...

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sueh557
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2019

This was a once in a lifetime experience. From the food, to the tours to the rooms overlooking the ocean. It is secluded and the staff was incredible. They cater to your every need. The price is not for everyone but if you can splurge, don't miss it. They have tours of everything you need to see on Kangaroo Island and more.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank kukubrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2019

Family of 5 staying in 2 rooms. 3 nights.
Pros:
Good views and friendly staff.
Cons:
For a top resort charging these amounts having interns and trainees (while friendly) is not acceptable. Each meal took 1.5 hours to serve food; we wander if this was done to kill time between activities? A lot of activities including our favourite ones not only cost extra but is subject to staff availability. They need to add a lot more staff and better trained. Food for vegetarians was not good (adapted from meat dishes). Overall we were underwhelmed by the amount we paid.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PoojaJ464
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BaillieLodgesAust, Marketing Manager at Southern Ocean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2019

Dear PoojaJ464

We're very pleased that overall you're able to recommend the lodge's stunning coastal location and the general friendliness of our staff. However, it's with regret we read the remainder of your review as by all indications you loved your experience of Southern Ocean Lodge - this is certainly the way it was expressed to our team at the time of your departure.

Two of our most senior team members - our Assistant Lodge Manager and Restaurant Manager - were at your service during the stay and every effort made to accommodate your special dietary requests. It's a shame the specially arranged Indian style breakfast on your morning of departure has been forgotten and also the endeavors to arrange last-minute activities, which subsequently were then cancelled by you.

If only something was said at the time, the team would have tried very diligently to resolve all concerns to your satisfaction or indeed in excess of expectations.

Regards
Alison Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

This is the much lauded No1 hotel/lodge is Australia. For for good reason.

Set in the beautiful rugged and pristine Flinders National Park, SOL is the result of the brains and foresight of the Bailie family.

The hotel is amazing, no expense spared experience second to the Burj, and even then..... just.

There is a high turnover of staff due to the remoteness of the location, but you would not realise this as all staff are so well prepared and educated. Credit to john and alison- managers of SOL for almost a decade.

Expensive...... yes. Worth it? Yes. Will I return? In a heartbeat.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank DrSteveTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews