We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely Wild Beach

Had a lovely evening walk along the sand dunes. Great views and unspoiled . Great walk and a great... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Paul D
,
Rothwell, Australia
Wonderful, windless, winter walk!

Middle Hope, leading onto Sand Point and Swallow Ridge, is a sequence of carboniferous limestone... read more

Reviewed 10 December 2020
JuneBug1939
,
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
34
17
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
34
17
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice walk sand bay bronze age flat holm evening stroll worth the climb worth the effort lovely view lovely beach ice cream bridge coastline priory dogs windy promontory path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2020

Middle Hope, leading onto Sand Point and Swallow Ridge, is a sequence of carboniferous limestone with unusual geological features including a Pleistocene-aged fossil cliff and has been designated as a SSSI. The underlying geology and soil types support scarce plants such as the smallflower buttercup, honeywort, Cheddar pink and Somerset hair grass. There is a stone Trig Point used by the archaeologists/scientists on Middle Hope just before you get to Swallow Ridge. Human use of the sites is shown by a bowl barrow and disc barrow from late Neolithic or Bronze Age and the site of a likely motte-and-bailey castle. Woodspring Priory, a former Augustinian priory which was founded in the early 13th century, sits just inland of the rocky promontory. The Priory and surrounding land is owned by the National Trust. We enjoyed our walk yesterday, up the steps from Sand Bay Carpark, up the craggy, muddy pathway onto Middle Hope, then along the coastline almost to Woodspring Priory and back. Such a wonderful day we had. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: December 2020
2  Thank JuneBug1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2020

This place is managed by the National Trust. There is plenty of parking, although it is £5 per day for non-members. (Okay if you are here for an extended period.) It is a good location for a short-ish walk: c40 mins up and along the point. Many visitors were photographers or birders. Pleasant location

Date of experience: October 2020
2  Thank 301lisa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2020

Lovely beach and some nice local walks, including out along the point of swallow cliff, and around middle hope, geat views out to sea and across to wales on a clear day.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank WilliamB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

Lovely walks, beautiful views across the bay with especially lovely views of villages lit up across the bay in the evening, rivals any UK Bay view on a nice day, windy day or on evening stroll. Kewstoke and Sand Bay in my top 5 beautiful peaceful places to be in England.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank 1975clarep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

I went for a ride in my car with my partner to Weston super mare but it was so busy and with the virus about decided to drive further, we reached sand bay at kewstoke, what a lovely beach ,plenty of room and hardly any body there, we parked at the sand point car park at the end of the beach, and went for a walk, walked right out to the end of the cliffs, what a lovely view, with Weston to your left and clevdon to your right and steep Holm and flat Holm in front of you, what great views and only a few people about, there is so many beautiful places in our country

Date of experience: August 2020
2  Thank _stevecuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews