We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions are important...”
Review of The Bush Inn

The Bush Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Penallt
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

My partner and I were walking in the area and our route took us via The Bush Inn, so we decided to stop for a drink (it being a glorious sunny day). We chose a bench outside which we thought to be available (others had “reserved from...for...” notices).
We’d been sat down for less than a minute when a member of staff (we think the owner/landlady) came out of the pub, with a face like thunder, accusing us of tampering with the “reserved” notice on the table. This was a totally inappropriate reaction, a simple “sorry that table is reserved” would have sufficed. My partner later overheard her complaining to another table about our apparent misbehaviour.
The only saving grace (and the reason that this review is 2/5 rather than 1/5) was that the other staff seemed capable of working in an entirely professional and welcoming manner.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank MarkcD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2021

Visited today during a very long walk. Excellent food. I had the fish finger sandwich and my husband had the cheese, tomato and onion sandwich. Huge portions. Best fish finger sandwich I’ve ever had. Amazing chips. Beautiful location and excellent welcome. Thanks for the doggie sausages too. We will definitely be back again very soon. Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank MissyeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

We sat in the garden in the sunshine and enjoyed peaceful and beautiful surroundings, great beer, delicious food (the chips are to die for and the homemade cakes were lovely), and welcoming and friendly staff. We’re really looking forward to going back next week and eating inside.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2021

Well,where do I start, fantastic atmosphere, very tasty food and well presented... more than we could eat so took a doggy bag home, friendly staff.... the main attraction was the open outside fire, during times of outside dining, this was much appreciated and of course, the stunning gardens and views are worth seeing... especially with a cold pint....

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Footprints666665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2020 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced, everything was spotless and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Given the extremely prohibitive restrictions being placed on the hospitality sector at the moment, you be forgiven for expecting some sort of cut down service, not so here. Everything had been carefully thought through to make our simple lunch as enjoyable as possible. Really lovely to find a place we can revisit with confidence and we will certainly be doing that.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Greatspotstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bush Inn also viewed

Penallt, Monmouthshire

Been to The Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.