We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of Mean Fiddler

Mean Fiddler
Ranked #8 of 142 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$35
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are open 6 days a week. We offer local wine and seafood. Beer on tap. Fully licenced. Prices to suit everyone. Children under 10 eat for free.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Went today for lunch with some ladies and had a fantastic Duck Salad. Yummo,
Service was great by Kate as always. Thank you Mean Fiddler for yet another great meal

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Hadn’t been to the Mean Fiddler for a while but pleased to advise the food was outstanding. Very busy on Saturday night and the staff were under the pump. Courteous service with a smile and chef did a great job. Wonderful range on offer and the combination of flavours and textures would please any palate. Congratulations team, well done.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 546stevej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

Pleasant staff but food was just ok. Nothing wrong but not amazing for the price you pay. Do like the paper in the tables and supplied pencils to have a draw while you eat!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank BigLuke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2019

My wife and I booked for an evening meal on a recent 5 night stay in Albany and had the best meal by far at this restaurant. It was busy so best to make a booking. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Not a large menu but adequate and food was great, we had Pork Belly and Vermouth chicken. The Pork Belly was the best I have had for quite some time. Wine by the glass available. We were too full for desserts.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Enjoyed a dinner with a group of four. Booking is recommended - it can be busy. Early on in the evening it can be quite difficult to hear due to the noise levels and acoustics, but it got quieter later on. So it's not a very intimate setting, and tables are quite close together. But the food is worth it!

There are lots of menu options, but we opted for the three course dinner with a fixed price of $60 a piece. Not cheap, but it's a good option if you are going to do three courses, and it works out cheaper than paying full price for the individual menu options. Lots of choice too.

I had pork belly and duck, which I highly recommend, and the food was amazing. One of the best dinners I've ever had, and that's saying something! Terrific presentation, good sized servings, and incredible tastes and garnishes. Dessert was also excellent (both the lava cake and the cheese cake are terrific!) - very classy, well presented, and decent size - a real standout that looks and tastes special.

So overall positives: the quality of the food. I'm not a huge fan of the setting (a bit noisy and crowded) and the prices are quite high, but for good quality food, it's worth it.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlbanyRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mean Fiddler also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Mean Fiddler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing