We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveler rating
250
254
84
45
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
254
84
45
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the kitchen across the road bedroom apartment the penthouse rooftop area outdoor spa car park overlooking the beach three bedroom family holiday main bedroom reception staff patrolled beach sunshine coast cafes and restaurants long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We've enjoyed another stay at the hotel zanzibar. A convenient location for those who chose to fly in with no need for transportation. A sunny ocean view unit with modern glass doors and a large balcony

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vivjbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear vivjbradshaw,

Thank you for the 5 STAR REVIEW - Outstanding.

It is always great to receive such positive comments and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your return stay.

Warm regards,
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in Unit 301. We are 3 males on a golfing week and part of a group of 16 mates so we don't require or expect 5 star. But we did expect at least 4 star for the price we are charged. Three blokes 50 plus, we have travelled much of the world and appreciate there is a wide range of accommodation options and standards. The Mantra Zanzibar is in a top location with nice ocean views. The apartment layout works well with 3 beds, 2 bathrooms. BUT the apartment needs a total refurbishment. We appreciate that these units are strata owned and so some owners may have refurbished their apartments while other owners are more tight fisted. The owners of 301 seem to be in the later category. The building is maybe 25-30 years old, tired and showing its age. It needs work. Anywhere that expects you to pay for Wifi and offers speeds as slow as anywhere in the world should send you a warning signal. But back to our apartment. It is well overdue for a total update and upgrade and is simply unacceptable for the prices it is charging. An oven with 3 dials but all the decals worn off so you have no idea how to work it; windows that are locked or corroded so you cant get fresh air (bathroom, bedrooms); couches, chairs, beds that are worn, old, sagging and uncomfortable; smelly bathrooms; dirty, old grout; kitchen cupboards that are broken, hinges falling off, doors that don't open or close properly; a TV that is 20 years old and too small for today's expectations and a VCR for goodness sake!! corrosion everywhere on handles, hinges; seriously marked walls etc that require repainting; a kitchen example - a non stick frypan with the Teflon peeling off ( great for health nuts); a 7 night stay but no change of towels, apartment cleaning or replenishment of basic bathroom toiletries - We could go on but you get the drift? The apartment should have been updated and renovated before now. If you are allocated unit 301 - request another unit. The owners and management need to be given feedback that this standard is not unacceptable. Having said this, the staff have been very professional, courteous and helpful. But we know there are much better places to stay in this nice part of the world and we would be reluctant to return to Mantra Zanzibar.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Grapip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Grapip,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and advising us of your concerns and we were pleased to be able to go through your points in person before departing.

We do take all of your comments on board and value your feedback as an integral part of our continuing aim to maximise service to our guests.

We have since conducted a full audit of the unit and addressed any maintenance issues as raised, including updating the oven decals and lighting.

Thank you again for passing on your feedback and we appreciate your time. We were also pleased to hear your other group enjoyed their stay and we look forward to you returning next year.

Warm regards,
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Zanzibar was g8 place to stay g8 view wife love the spa and the kids loved the pool handy to shop's cafes and restaurants so much to do with in walking distance. Handy to the white sands and warm water of the beach g8 for a dip

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ctslcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear ctslcb,

Thank you for the 5 STAR REVIEW - Outstanding.

It is always great to receive such positive comments and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your return stay.

Warm regards,
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Excellent location, great view, lovely apartment, nicely furnished and equipped, friendly helpful staff, secure undercover parking.
My only gripe was the $70 per week WiFi cost which I didn't take. Was told that it was not free because we had made the reservation through Booking.com

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Ken C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Zanzibar, following your recent stay with us.

Regarding WiFi, this is currently available to Mantra+ members as part of our reward program and more information can be found within the booking terms.

It is great to hear your feedback and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Zanzibar offered all it advertised, fantastic location and the weather was awesome. We had a great room with heaps of space for all the family. The spa on the balcony was a super bonus. We walked to the restaurants and were spoilt for choice. The room was filled with all the amenities you would expect plus some extras! Great appliances, toiletries and linen, will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank kirwansinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfabr, Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear kirwansinchina ,

We are pleased to read you were impressed with the location and was able to enjoy all the nearby facilities on offer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews