We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveler rating
446
184
49
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
184
49
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hogs breath across the road coffee machine pool bar coffee club bedroom ocean apartment pools are great heated lap pool bulcock beach sunshine coast spa bath text message ocean view restaurants downstairs king bed each morning mod cons
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

On our previous visit we had cockroaches in our apartment, not just the occasional one, but many. Feedback was given, but no response back was received.
This time we had ants all through our two bedroom apartment.
Upon checking out I mentioned it to the receptionist, my comments were just shrugged off, the response I received was "it happens because we are so close to the beach and being summer doesn't help".
I have stayed at the Aspect, Rolling Surf, just to mention a few and have never had any concerns with either ants or cockroaches.
Also, being late June early July, is not really "summer"
I'm also from Brisbane and understand the issues we have with roaches and ants, but in my "clean" house and numerous other places I have stayed in Caloundra, there has not been a problem.
The price you pay for this 5 star resort, you would think receiving feedback from a guest is something your resort would value, but then again, if you are checking out, you already have my money.......

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmck32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear jmck32, thank you for your comments. As you know, I began investigating this complaint immediately upon being notified. We almost never have an issue with cockroaches. We maintain a strict annual schedule of inspect control and almost never receive negative feedback in this regard from our guests. Ants may occasionally come and go with the rain, as we all know. We were unable to find any evidence of cockroaches in your apartment. We do however know that cockies can sometimes fly in, but will die quickly. We apologise once again, but please be assured, we always do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We stayed in room 210 which was advertised as partial ocean views. There was no ocean view whatsoever, just the back of other people's units.So I if we sat on the balcony we had a view of the back entrance of the unit block with people entering their rooms with their luggage. Great view! To make it worst, we had to keep our balcony door shut to get away from the constant cigarette smoke. For a $300 room we could have been in any crappy location. The whole room stunk of a filthy drain smell and was worst the next day. We could hear the people on the floor above stomping around and the elevator going up and down from early morning. It was the first time we had a late checkout but it was the earliest we have checked out of a hotel. We will never stay there again. Very disappointed. Complete waste of money.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Peggy P, we too are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. Our Resort Spa Suites offer either a partial ocean view or pool view, or both. The smoking sounds dreadful. We have no record of any complaints lodged about this recently, nor the drainage issues. We can assure you that our on-site team would have been right on to both!! Whilst we always strive for a first-class guest experience every time, very rarely, things don't work out. Please feel free to make contact with us, we will try and make it up to you. Best regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Very central position and right in the heart of shopping and restaurants. Just walk down the steps and you have many restaurants to choose from and the beach is just about 30 metres across the road. Great pool with a see through glass out onto the main street. Different rooms at different prices and if you want a top of the range room they it will cost more.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelguy1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear travelguy1944, we really appreciate the great review. Much appreciated, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed three nights in what was supposed to be an ocean view room. We were on ground floor right next to the pool. You could see the beach but only from at the front of the patio. The room was very loud and we couldn’t have the curtains open because you could see straight into the lounge and back room from the pool area.

We had always wanted to stay here but we were disappointed. Very expensive for what it was and won’t be going back.

Would be good for young people close to the pool and bar area but not good for families. Especially trying to get young kids to sleep!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Jem1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Jem1806, we are very sorry your stay wasn't as expected. Our Resort Spa Suites don't in many cases have an ocean view. You can however call us in advance and request a higher level, which many guests do. Alternatively, Rumba's Ocean Apartments may be more suitable. Best regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Having not been on a small getaway for years, my husband and I were looking forward to spending 2 nights in an ocean view room, which we originally booked to stay at Monaco Resort through Wotif. On the day we were due to arrive we were advised that the previous guests flooded our room and did not have any other rooms to accommodate us. They told me they had booked us into a room at Rumba Resort. I mentioned that due to the inconvenience and not being our fault, that the room needed to be as good, if not better. We were assured that the room was of the same quality, ocean view, with a spa.
Upon checking into Rumba we entered our room and can only describe it as a cave without any privacy or ocean view whatsoever! They also advised us this was the only room left in the complex. The bedroom and lounge room literally looked out onto a corridor of another part of the complex where we could see people entering and leaving their apartment and they could literallly see us in full view.
We also had to call reception to police several kids that decided to climb the balcony and run amuck on the roof that butted right up against our balcony. We were able to have a conversation with the receptionist from our balcony, who literally stood at the corridor just several meters across from us!
For the entire stay we had to have our curtains closed, and to class the room as an ocean view is a complete farce! The only compensation was a couple of free drink vouchers to their bar that we were told would probably be closed after 5pm! and half way through our last day, right before we were leaving for a function, they offered a room change...we had no time to make the move as we were literally walking out the door... and quite frankly, too little too late!
We were also woken at 5.30am each morning to stomping around in room above us.
My advice, don’t book a room that says ocean view and think this will be the case as it clearly wasn’t for us! And if you have to be re-accommodated to another hotel, insist they do a bit of extra leg work to ensure the room is up to scratch because we were severely ripped off and would never stay at either resort again!!

Room tip: Request a room at front of complex on a higher floor, these would be best for ocean views, and limited noise from the restaurant/guests.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lelahlurline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear lelahlurline, firstly we are very sorry your stay wasn't what you expected. As you were relocated to us from another property, we don't know what representations were made to you. We do know that you received our last available room for that night and this was not an Ocean Apartment. Whilst we are disappointed to receive a bad review when all we did was assist you and another property in a time of need, we accept that in a service industry we can only do our best. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews