We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

The Gingerbread House Katoomba
Ranked #2 of 10 Quick Bites in Katoomba
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We brought our 5 year old daughter here & she was so excited! The cakes were delicious & the sweet store great for kids, expensive for parents!

But they advertised a treasure hunt. When I went to ask for it, they said they’d run out of instructions. Then when the waitress asked the Manager to print more, he said they’d run out of ink?! He was the grumpiest owner of a kids entertainment restaurant I’ve ever come across. Unacceptable.
My daughter was so disappointed. It shouldn’t be advertised if it’s not available to get kids excited. Or he could have at least been kinder about it rather than snapping.
There wasn’t much else to entertain her apart from a sheet of colouring in with broken pencils, so we left.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LozzaaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Had lunch at this spot which was hit and miss. Nice service and a yummy hot chocolate taster. My companion had a tasty vegetarian platter, however my soup was not good and the accompanying cheese tosdtie was cold

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank kimnL2131XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Wasn’t much there that interested us, only spent 10 minutes looking around. Brought $5 worth of sweets and left. Staff where nice.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Decided to try the Gingerbread House again after a long absence - sadly we won't be back!

Our group of 3 waited far too long - 45 mins infact for coffee and cake - patrons served after we placed our order were served before us, which is never a good indication. Cakes were enjoyable but coffees bitter with burnt milk - yuk!

Although we received apologies when finally served, we were advised that our delay was "due to the need for more cream from the kitchen, so we worked our way through the backlog first"???

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bega1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerbread H, Manager at The Gingerbread House Katoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hello Bega1508,

I am truly sorry to read about your experience with us on your return visit. Please accept our sincere apologies again and make yourselves known on your next visit -- we'd love to offer you a complimentary selection of drinks and cakes to say sorry.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

This was a great place for lunch with young children. The cubby house and outdoor area are fantastic. The colour coded treats shop is lovely and the range of ginger products for any ginger fantatics is amazing!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mudgeetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerbread H, Manager at The Gingerbread House Katoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi Mudgeetm,

Thank you for your kind words. We're very happy you had a great time:)

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gingerbread House Katoomba also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Gingerbread House Katoomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing