We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every town needs an expensive place to eat and this is it!”
Review of Reef Bar Grill

Reef Bar Grill
Ranked #4 of 89 Restaurants in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: European, Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reef recently underwent a refurbishment to the bar and restaurant and now boasts an eclectic fresh decor, where guests can relax in the ambient and modern surrounds from the best vantage point in Forster. Guests can enjoy a cocktail or beer with friends at the new outdoor/indoor bar overlooking the sparkling Wallis Lake, or they can stay for a delicious meal delicately prepared by head chef Peter Tjornelund. The menu is a fusion of Asian and European cuisine and features mouth-watering meals such as a garlic and lemon marinated pork cutlet with honey figs, roast kumara, goats cheese and pistachio. The menu also includes an all-day dining option with gourmet pizzas along with a carefully selected wine and beer menu to accompany the meals.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a sunny afternoon this is the perfect spot for a cocktail or glass of wine overlooking the lake. It is incredibly expensive so not for the faint hearted. Its the sort of cost where you expect tablecloths inside and not have the staff stack your empty plates on your table. One waitress was quiet haughty. Overall it was a good experience, but more a place for adults and groups.

Thank Darcy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting Forster for a sporting tournament and wanted to take my wife for a nice dinner. The service was exceptional, and we felt very well looked after, unfortunately the food did not match the high end price point, and was well off the mark.

Thank 447conradg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaA2718, Manager at Reef Bar Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Conrad, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We were very disappointed to hear your experience was less than satisfactory. We take positive & negative reviews very seriously and will discuss this with the team. We do hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were lucky to get a table for 2 … thankfully for us, someone had cancelled at the last minute.

The service was "perfectly Forster" with no pretense, just trying to make our evening wonderful from start to finish. Maddie our waitress was the highlight. Always smiling and happy to assist. The food was brilliant! The view of the waterway and bridge just what we need to set the week aside.

Congratulations and we'll definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aussiesrus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaA2718, Manager at Reef Bar Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your fantastic review aussiesrus_10. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. We are very happy you enjoyed our food, service and location. We'll be sure to let Maddie know how much of an impact she made on your experience. We can't wait to see you again. Thank you so much!!!


Kind regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I had the pleasure of dining here during my recent trip to Forster. To say they food was great is an understatement it was absolutely amazing!
We started with house cocktails which was a French Martini at $10 then because it was happy hour had a house white for $4!
We shared the following entrees - the roasted Turkish bread with goats marcapone balsamic and herb oil was simply stunning, the dressing with the natural oysters was sublime and the duck spring roll was yummy.
We all opted for the Barramundi for main best we have ever had!
We really enjoyed our dining experience here so do yourself a favour and book a table you won’t regret it.

1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaA2718, Manager at Reef Bar Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sally, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to post this feedback! Hope to see you again here at the Reef anytime soon!


Kind regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We look forward to visiting this restaurant each year when on holidays in Forster and once again it did not disappoint. We shared 3 entrees - prawns, salt & pepper squid and the scallops: all beautiful and cooked perfectly. The eye fillet steak for Main was once again cooked to perfection. Finally the sticky date pudding was the best I have ever had. We all agreed it was the most enjoyable 3 course meal we have had in a very long time, can’t wait to return!

Thank Taralmc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaA2718, Manager at Reef Bar Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Wow, thanks for this awesome review Taralm83! We are so happy you found the food and the service to be excellent. Thanks so much for taking the time to post this wonderful feedback! I'll make sure to pass on your great comments to both chefs along with all the staff. See you again soon!


Kind regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Bar Grill also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to Reef Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing