We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/16/22
Booking.com
$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/17/22
Hotels.com
$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/16/22
Priceline$61
Travelocity$76
Agoda.com$62
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
15
26
18
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
15
26
18
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunter valley tea coffee wineries noise cleanliness desk fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 69 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2019

I could not recommend this place. The room was dirty, carpets stained with something of a red origin, paint and plaster crumbling off the wall. It was dated and seems unlikely any changes since opened decades ago. It looks better from the outside. It was expensive the night we stayed possibly as there was an event in the Hunter Valley that night. Even if appears a bargain I could not recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Shebe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

From the moment you walk through the front door the musty, dank smell hits the nostrils. So disappointing for an establishment that could offer so much more. It is easy to see that nil customer satisfaction is part of their mantra. Just rake in the dollars and when a concert event is on rake in even more dollars for no change in facilities provided. Room rate goes from $80 per night to $170 per night.
It must have been a monastery or similar as no room has direct access to the outside. Dark rooms and no lighting in public areas. One lousy microwave is provided in a common area with a reading light providing the only illumination to read the controls.
Air conditioning in the public areas is never switched on which only raises the musty smell of the place.
Very small rooms.
To the operators credit,the rooms were clean and tidy and daily service was provided, however this did not compensate for all the shortcomings.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 385gregd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

Sure this is a budget motel but there is nothing wrong with that. If you are on a budget then stay here and save your money to spend at the wineries. The place is dated, or has character if you prefer, and could do with a makeover but it's clean, safe and comfy, everything you need for a good night sleep. The only issue I had was the height of the shower head, it was a bit on the low side, nothing ridiculous but would have been better if it was a bit higher. Comfy double bed and 2 singles for the kids, was ideal for us. We were in the Hunter for the Xmas lights and the location was great, just a short drive from the shops in Cessnock and about 10-15 mins from the gardens. No hesitation in recommending this place and would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

The Hunter Valley Travellers Rest Motel at Cessnock is a very quiet Motel with plenty of room for 3 Grandsons and myself. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Close to Cessnock township, where there are plenty of shops and restaurants - Highly recommend

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We spent 7 nights there.
Room was large, cleaned daily and perfectly adequate.
The couple running the place were friendly and whilst we didn’t have a lot of contact with them were obliging for everything we asked.
Yes it’s a little dated but it’s a budget hotel.
Didn’t experience any of the things some of the negative reviews have suggested.
Would I stay there again - Yes...

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank X434AGmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews