We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
143
14
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
143
14
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chamberlain gorge miri miri el questro hiking boots fabulous food helicopter tours adventure australia walks scenery elquestro sunset bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has everything scenery, fine dining adventures and above everything it’s a beautiful homestead that does become your home for the time you are there.
The manager Jason was on to everything and no details are missed.
We had a eclectic group of guests when we stayed and enjoyed many a evening till quite late and many a vino getting to know them. But if communal dining is not your thing it’s no problem to dine on your own with a view on the balcony in your room or in the open air near the pool.
My personal tips if you thinking of going
1. 5 nights is just right
2. Pack hiking boots and backpack if you are doing gorge walks
3. The miri miri falls helicopter 12 o’clock tour with lunch...book it as it’s just FABULOUS
Hope this helps anyone looking at going.
Good Luck
Cath

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank CatherineEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

One of the best experiences we have ever had. We’ve travelled extensively both in Australia and overseas so can honestly say that 3 nights at Elquestro Homestead tops them all - hanging over Chamberlain Gorge with a sea eagle perched on a bush and a fresh water crocodile sleeping below the surface on a ledge, amazing sunsets fabulous food and the staff who couldn’t do enough for us - it was heavenly

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2019

We loved our 5 night stay at the Homestead even though it was in October and therefore very hot. The season was winding down and their were fewer people around which was good. The setting is spectacular. The food, hospitality, the tours and the ranger guides were all excellent. And as you share meals and tours with other Homestead guests we got to know some interesting people staying there.
We ending up upgrading from our smallish Homestead garden facing room into a Cliffside retreat as the garden facing room was not that private and ours had the generator opposite which was a bit noisy. But the extra expense for the Cliffside retreat was absolutely worth it. These bungalows are newer, beautifully designed, much more private and have spectacular views.

Room tip: Cliff side retreat rooms are worth the extra expense for the privacy and outlook.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LarryK331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at El Questro - The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Dear LarryK331

It was a delight to have hosted you both and thank you for sharing your amazing experience with others. It is really pleasing to hear such praise for the team, it certainly makes their day to see the review.

Our Cliffside retreats are indeed a real treat and highly recommended. All of the accommodation styles are well appointed and more than comfortable, but the Retreat are a real "treat".

We do hope that we get to see you visit again.

warmest wishes

Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2019 via mobile

Wow! Right from arrival you are made feel special in this Kimberley oasis. Cold towels, endless drinks, great fresh cold water and meals from a ***** chef. The private setting is fantastic.
The rooms are all great but the cliff top cabins are special with open air bath and shower, great design, very comfortable beds, aircon that is unobtrusive.
We had a great group of interesting fellow guests who enhanced our stay. The scenery was spectacular and our gorge walks to cool swimming holes often with freshness crocs were well planned with some excellent guides.
We had no need for our rental 4x4 as we were taxied around to everywhere we needed. Also the helicopter was special landing on the lawns outside our rooms.
Special mention of excellent staff including Greg, Kate, Silvia, Emma, Steph really all of team were great. Nothing was impossible or too much trouble.
This should be a bucket lister but don’t leave it too late as in the heat (oct 45’) some walks were tough for 70 year olds.

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

El Questro is about 100km west of Kununurra in north western Western Australia. It is remote. 16kms of dirt, corrugated roads and two shallow river crossings, once you leave the bitumen from the Gibb River Road. You arrive at the Station - accommodation varies from camp sites to glamps. The Homestead is about 5kms from the Station and the staff will come and pick you up in a Landcruiser. At the Homestead we stayed in the Chamberlain Suite. Incredible 180 degree views. The accommodation was amazing with nothing to want for. In fact you could have thought that you had died and gone to "heaven". Staff were engaging and attentive, but not over the top. Included tours were all excellent. we stayed for 4 nights and could have stayed longer if time permitted. The food and wine were equal to any 3 Hat Restaurant. What more could you ask for.

Room tip: All rooms at the homestead are good
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kxmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at El Questro - The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Dear kxmg

Thank you for sharing your Homestead experience, it does sound like you had a wonderful time. I know that the team try their utmost to provide that attention yet are always friendly and welcoming at the same time. Chef also strives to please everyone's varied tastes and requirements, so acknowledgement of his fine cuisine is most appreciated.

It is indeed an experience that could go on for much longer, there is so much to do, and the peacefulness of the Homestead itself is worth relishing for a couple of days as well.

We hope that you get that opportunity to visit for a longer stay.

Warmest wishes

Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews