We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
catp79
Winchester, United Kingdom

The friendliest staff… loved this hotel!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 11, 2024via mobile
We stayed for three nights in a standard sea-view room on a half-board basis.

Staff at check-in were really friendly.

Our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was particularly spacious with a powerful shower and all the amenities you could need. The bed was comfortable. We had a great view. The only issue was the fridge just wasn’t cold enough.

The pool area was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and a great pool bar. The pool staff were extremely friendly and fun!

Breakfast was good. Dinner was just ok as the choice of food was limited. The restaurant was clean and well maintained. Wine choice not bad and reasonably priced.

The bar area was also nice. Drinks were very reasonable and the staff were friendly.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area.

We had a fabulous stay and would come again!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. catp79,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the friendly service, spacious and clean room, comfortable bed, and lovely pool area with friendly staff.

We appreciate your constructive comments regarding the fridge and the limited dinner options. These points will be addressed to enhance our guests' experience.

It's wonderful to know that you found the breakfast good, the restaurant clean, and the bar area pleasant with reasonably priced drinks. We are also glad you enjoyed the surrounding area.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another fabulous stay!

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Terraço com vista sobre a cidade | Rooftop with city overview
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    4.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    • Agoda.com
    2.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Five Elements Madeira
    • Agoda.com
    3.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    • Agoda.com
    3.9 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      ₱12,106
    • Booking.com
    1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sao Martinho
    Reviews (3,488)
    Filter reviews
    3,490 results
    Traveler rating
    2,282
    869
    264
    49
    26
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    2,282
    869
    264
    49
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 3,490 reviews
    Reviewed June 11, 2024

    Stayed in this hotel May 2024. Certainly not a 5 star hotel as advertised at the front of the hotel. Some good points: rooms very clean and spacious. The staff are very helpful and work incredibly hard. Lovely gardens and lovely views. Its around 25 minutes by bus into the town centre, so a little far out.
    But on the first night we went to the dining room – looked like a school canteen and as busy as a school canteen. We managed to get a table for 2 outside the kitchen doors and then had to queue up to sign the bill! Perhaps the numbers were so high because of a change over date? Buffet food, as most people say, was pretty disappointing – very small area where food was laid out and the quality of the food needs improving. If you can book the other 3 restaurants – if not too busy – do so. Food so much better. (Don’t drink the watery orange juice at breakfast time – it’s awful). The dining room accommodation improved when the staff set up tables outside – as guests moved there and this helped to reduce the numbers inside.
    If you like sun on the balcony in the afternoon be careful which room you book. All the rooms with full sea views lose the sun at 2.30pm (choose side sea view if you want afternoon sun). The carpets in the corridors are pretty worn and certainly need replaced.
    As I said bedrooms were spacious but in need of upgrading. I am sure the hotel would agree. Even the towels in the bathroom need replaced – very thin and hard!
    I am sorry to write such a negative report of the hotel but I hope it is of help to some people before deciding to book.

    Room tip: Be careful which room you book
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Angel77Scotland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Mr./Mrs. Angel77Scotland,

    Thank you for your detailed feedback from your stay in May 2024. We appreciate your positive remarks about our clean, spacious rooms, hardworking staff, lovely gardens, and views.

    We apologize for the issues you encountered, particularly with the dining experience and the condition of certain areas. Your comments about the buffet food, corridor carpets, and bathroom towels are noted and will be addressed to improve our services.

    We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a better experience.

    Best regards,
    Warm regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 9, 2024

    Had a wonderful stay at the Pestana Grand Hotel.
    The hotel is in a quiet, stunning location overlooking the sea. Can easily get to Funchal town.
    Large pool area and plenty of sun loungers.
    Bedroom was a good size and comfortable.
    Food is very good and plentiful.
    The hotel staff, reception/restaurant/bar etc are all so friendly and helpful.
    Thank you for a great stay and I look forward to returning in September
    Paula

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Traveled solo
    Thank Paula P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Mrs. Paula P,

    On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback.

    It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories.

    We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel!

    Warm regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 5, 2024

    We had a great week at this family friendly hotel. The sea view suite was perfect for the 4 of us, with comfortable beds, a bath and separate shower, and with great sea and pool views and two balconies.
    Nice walks from the doorstep and local buses to Funchal stop right outside the hotel, and a large supermarket a 5 min walk away.
    Buffet breakfast and dinner had plenty of choice - and thought not 5 star quality, it was fine for a family holiday. The pool was stunning, and plenty of sunbeds.
    With some little extra touches (for example, free water at dinner, and replenishing tea and coffee in the rooms), this could easily feel more like a 5* hotel.

    Room tip: Ask for a west facing sea view room for stunning sunsets.
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Rebecca D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Mrs. Rebecca D,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 4, 2024

    Absolutely beautiful, the view is gorgeous. The staff is ever so friendly and they made sure my time was well spent. The room we booked was great! It was very clean and pleasant to stay in, the rooms themselves have a very calming and relaxing atmosphere.

    Date of stay: June 2024
    Trip type: Traveled with friends
    Thank Culture57993275380
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Mr./Mrs. Culture57993275380,

    Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

    It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 4, 2024

    Vegan meal made every day extra for Our child what a top Service!! Super hotel w-fi WLAN very good signal! Call out to Joäo Rebeiro super friendly great guy always helpful, lovely garden,tabletennis table with good bats hope to come again was a lovely week!!!

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DrDos s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Mr./Mrs. DrDos s,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews