We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
₱13,878
Fully refundable before Tue, May 28
Hotels.com
₱14,347
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
₱11,188
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Lynne19932015
Tonypandy, United Kingdom

Excellent Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 11, 2024
Excellent hotel everything is at a very high standard bedrooms , dining room and staff. Idea location over looking the sea with pleasant walks along the coastal path . Certainly would recommend everything about the hotel and have already booked to stay there next year.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this review
Responded Feb 12, 2024
Dear Mrs. Lynne19932015,

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Terraço com vista sobre a cidade | Rooftop with city overview
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
eDreams
    4.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    2.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Five Elements Madeira
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.9 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Hotels.com
    ₱17,362
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      ₱17,409
    • Lol.travel
      ₱11,797
    • Priceline
      ₱13,396
    1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sao Martinho
    Reviews (3,454)
    Filter reviews
    3,454 results
    Traveler rating
    2,255
    863
    261
    49
    26
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    2,255
    863
    261
    49
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    26 - 31 of 3,454 reviews
    Reviewed January 31, 2024

    We stayed at the Grand for 3 weeks in early January 2024. Our first impression of the hotel when we checked in was lovely, the reception staff were very friendly and very helpful. They turned out to be one of the best parts of the holiday, without their help and understanding I would have been at a complete loss as to how to solve my problems.
    First let me tell you about the positives of which were many, I thought that the hotel was well situated with great views and it was handy to have access at the rear of the hotel to the promenade from where you could walk in to Funchal in about an hour.
    Our room was lovely and spacious with a great view of the sea and the well maintained gardens.
    The staff were lovely, the receptionists were very helpful and went the extra mile when it came to booking trips, booking meals and booking taxis for us. They also had an understanding of some of the hotel's problems and responded with a knowing smile and a sense of humour.
    The ladies that cleaned the rooms did a good job (although they sometimes needed to be reminded to replenish the coffee sachets). They also had a nice sense of fun when we passed them in the corridor in the morning .
    The breakfast buffet I enjoyed, eggs and bacon and a great selection of fruit and pastries!
    The evening buffet, however, was a little boring and the variety didn't change much over the 3 weeks of our stay, but worst of all it was often cold as were the plates!
    The A La Carte restaurants were very good and the food was always hot there.
    The entertainment was ok, some acts very good, others not so, but I suppose that will always be a bit subjective!
    My main problem was with the Spa area, the sauna was cold..... I complained after my first visit and was told that someone would look into it. On my next visit the sauna was still cold so I reported back to reception that the temperature was only 60 degrees C and was told this was a new EU directive to save on greenhouse gasses. When I queried this and wanted to take this further I was given the email address of the operations/unit manager Sara Verissimo.
    I emailed my complaint and had a meeting with Sara to discuss my problem with the spa but was told that that's just the way it is. I felt that there was no understanding of my point that it was too cold to be called a sauna and that it really shouldn't have been advertised as such. I notice from other reviews that I'm not the only one to have mentioned this fault.
    On a final note I would just like to add that with the kindness and helpfulness of the staff we still had a nice time!

    Room tip: Great location, fantastic staff, cold sauna!
    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Ian S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2024

    Dear Mr. Ian Smith,

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback about your experience at Pestana Grand. We value your opinion, as it helps us improve and anticipate our Guests' needs and expectations.

    We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations and any inconvenience this may have caused you. Due to the issues you raised, our Unit Manager, Mrs. Sara Veríssimo has already reach out to you to further investigate the matter, rebuild your trust, and recover the impression of the hotel.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 30, 2024

    Arriving 15 January, this was our second visit to the Pestana Grand, after having visited the same time last year and greatly enjoyed. We chose the hotel for its location, away from the hustle and bustle of Funchal centre but still within walking distance. For those with mobility issues there is a bus stop outside the hotel, yellow bus no. 2 takes you into the centre for less then €2.
    Our sea view room was large and tastefully decorated, the large balcony gave fantastic views of the sea and Funchal bay. The bathroom was also large with modern fixtures, having both bath and separate shower. Many thanks to Sofia on reception for allocating our requested room. We stayed half board basis, enjoying both the buffet restaurant and the three a la carte restaurant options. Many thanks to Rui, always working with a smile, along with other staff in the restaurants. We enjoyed time around the pool, plenty of sunbeds, drinks at pool bar, all with views of the sea and pretty gardens. We have found all members of staff to be friendly, accommodating and hard working.
    The hotel gives you direct access to the Promenade do Lido, which takes you to Funchal centre, just a forty min walk. There are bars/cafes along the way to get refreshments with views of the sea. An hour or so walk in the opposite direction takes you on the coastal path to the harbour village of Camara de Lobos, you can enjoy a meal and a drink en route with a number of bars to choose from, there’s also a beach en route.
    There is a very good shopping centre just up the road from the hotel called Forum Madeira, which is open till late. It has numerous shops including C&A H&M, Zara etc along with a food court and a great supermarket selling wine starting at €2 a bottle! Try their fresh bread, we’ve enjoyed warm rolls and a glass or two on our room balcony for lunch.
    Hope to return soon, thanks to all at Pestana Grand for another lovely holiday, Andrea

    Room tip: Book a sea view room
    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank AndreaL6637
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2024

    Dear Mrs. AndreaL6637,

    Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

    It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 29, 2024

    Location of the hotel offers amazing views over the ocean, if you book sea view room. 1 hour walking to the city centre but there are public buses just outside the hotel. Book the excursions to see more of the island. The levada walks are also on the top things to do. We did a Combo Jeep Safari to Santana and we managed to do two small levada walks, one in the morning and the other in the afternoon. The places you visit are really beautiful. Thumbs up for Margarita's customer service, well done!

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Traveled with family
    Thank anthonymC8144TQ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2024

    Dear Mr. Anthony,

    We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

    Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 26, 2024

    My New Year's stay was nothing short of magical. From the warm welcome to the stunning views from my room, every moment was pure delight. The impeccable service, exquisite cuisine, and serene ambiance made it a truly unforgettable experience. I highly recommend for anyone seeking luxury and relaxation in the heart of Madeira.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Pedro C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2024

    Dear Mr. Pedro C,

    We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

    Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 24, 2024

    First time at this amazing time at hotel. Barbara was a standout for us on the week we stayed.
    Lovely friendly staff.
    Cleanliness in our room was impeccable. All the hospitality from the staff really made our holiday .
    Great food.
    Already booked for next year.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Sofia Laura Gon... F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2024

    Dear Mrs. Sofia Laura Gon... F,

    Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

    It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews