We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional food”
Review of A Estalagem

A Estalagem
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 17/01
20:00
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Arronches
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, attentive service, excellent food, apparently all handled by the host alone.

We ate presunto, secretos and bochechas. The bochechas, for which the restaurant is famous, were outstanding. The house white wine is very acceptable.

One negative. For desert we chose sericaia. We received sponge cake. The owner apologised that he had no plums nor plum sauce. Sericaia without plums is just sponge. It shouldn't have been served.

If it were possible to take away half a star for the sericaia I would have done so, it isn't so five stars it is. Thoroughly recommended.

€41 for two people. Good value. English spoken.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank keithwilemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

We liked the food. Very typical Portuguese restaurant with nice dishes. Good and friendly staff. Would recommend to anyone

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Deamonpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

We had two lovely evenings out here. Very friendly staff, great local house wine, very nice food. Traditional Alentejo kitchen, very nicely prepared pork tenderloins, bacalhau dorade.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Arie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2018

I really recommend this restaurant in this region of Portugal, near the border to Spain.
The mood is really nice and typical, with all the decoration and even the space in itself, very good value for money with large and big dishes/doses enough for two people in many cases.
The service was nice too.
Beeing in Portugal in a sunday was full of spsnish people, because of the border near and a proof of its quality at all levels.
For sure to repeat.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This is a nice restaurant in a lovely Alentejo village. The food, mainly typical from the area, was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Good wine selection.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lacba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Estalagem also viewed

Arronches, Portalegre District
Arronches, Portalegre District
 
Monforte, Portalegre District
Arronches, Portalegre District
 

Been to A Estalagem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Philippines
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.