We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted exoerience”

The Vine Hotel Wangaratta
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Wangaratta
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Description: The Vine Hotel Wangaratta is located in the heart of North East Victoria, the hotel offers contemporary Australian cuisine in a charming atmosphere. Enjoy dining alfresco during the lazy summer months, Or get cosy by the fire in winter The Vine Hotel Wangaratta's history goes back to 1864 when the original licence was granted for the existing site. The present day building dates from around the 1880s and the bricks for the hotel were made on site from clay on the property. Walking into the pub is like taking a step back in time and gives you the feeling of old world charm with chandeliers, side boards and memorabilia dating back to the turn of last century. The vast cellar is unusually large, bearing in mind it would have been dug out by hand using picks, shovels and ploughs. Legend has it that Ned Kelly used to hide here, using the tunnel as his escape route. The Vine is considered to be a unique hotel and has long been a local landmark.
Restaurant details
Description: The Vine Hotel Wangaratta is located in the heart of North East Victoria, the hotel offers contemporary Australian cuisine in a charming atmosphere. Enjoy dining alfresco during the lazy summer months, Or get cosy by the fire in winter The Vine Hotel Wangaratta's history goes back to 1864 when the original licence was granted for the existing site. The present day building dates from around the 1880s and the bricks for the hotel were made on site from clay on the property. Walking into the pub is like taking a step back in time and gives you the feeling of old world charm with chandeliers, side boards and memorabilia dating back to the turn of last century. The vast cellar is unusually large, bearing in mind it would have been dug out by hand using picks, shovels and ploughs. Legend has it that Ned Kelly used to hide here, using the tunnel as his escape route. The Vine is considered to be a unique hotel and has long been a local landmark.
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

Attended for dinner with family, atmosphere is wonderful friendly and helpful staff, meals x 6 were delivered together hot fresh and delicious.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy, Owner at The Vine Hotel Wangaratta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Allan, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate the feedback.
We’re proud of our little team here. We pride ourselves on delivering hot, fresh & delicious meals all together so you can all enjoy eating at the same time. We loved that you noticed! Cheers and see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2021

An Australian icon. Staff are incredible and have rolled with the punches to the industry over the last 12 months with grace and ingenuity. I cant wait to see what they have planned for the future.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank MMontague90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Eclectic decor realness, super friendly staff; Vikki is an absolute queen who made us feel at home. The food was sensational. We had the Hawaiian chicken Parma which was a fantastic portion and the chips were cooked perfectly. The pub is so beautifully styled it took us half an hour to order simply because we had to look at all the incredibly curated pieces on display - vintage glassware, art deco mirrors, a whole cabinet of glomesh purses.... Soo many pieces. And the beer garden is amazing.

Will definitely be making this my regular when I am passing through Wangaratta.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank firebouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2021

We were up at Wangaratta on a holiday and stopped in at this hotel. Greeted on arrival by vicki, a lovely person with a bubbly personality, who made us feel welcome and provided excellent service.
All the staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem.
Kept coming back for meals here on 4 more days and it was always the same genuine atmosphere and service.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank petersC5319VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2021

Used to be a great place for steak and chips but recently they have not lived up to the standard their name has had in the past.
I have always ordered the steak at the Vine as its always been great, BUT...
I ordered fish and chips and the chips were awful, undercooked not at all crispy as in the past.
My friend ordered steak but it was fatty undercooked and not at all to the standard of the past.
Obviously the cook does not know what a good steak is and does not eat steak and they are not familiar with the idea of HOT vegetables and CRISPY chips. There is a serious problem with timing the food on the plate. The kitchen staff need to be changed to keep up the high standards of the past.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aspenp2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine Hotel Wangaratta also viewed

 
Wangaratta, Victoria
Wangaratta, Victoria
 

Been to The Vine Hotel Wangaratta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.