We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for greasy chips”

Coopers Catch Kaikoura
Ranked #5 of 18 Quick Bites in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: We are open 9.30am right through to Midnight - 7 days a week. Our aim is to offer a Kaikoura Seafood experience with Fresh Fish of the Day available daily. We have 3 qualified chefs working for us, all our fish is cooked to order, and we pride ourselves in quality and the high standard we offer to our customers. We also do our best to help the traveling public and our tourists by offering: Free Wifi & some Free takeaway tomato sauce with every takeaway order, and free tomato sauce, vinegar available for all meals eaten on the premises. We are a family business with friendly staff and our aim is to please You. We have outdoor picnic tables with umbrellas to offer a pleasant atmosphere, with views to the mountains, and of course the smell of that beautful sea, sit and enjoy while we deliver your meal to you. Free carpark.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were attracted to this restaurant because of the long queue we saw outside on the first night we arrived. Now I realise the long queue was more about the long wait for the food rather than the quality. When we finally received our fish and chips the fish was fine but the chips were greasy. Just an average fish and chip shop.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alastair4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

That's all we had...we were hungry. They were perfectly cooked. Wanted to go back to try the fish but didn't have time.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Kikki0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I came here after a recommendation "the best fish and chip shop in town". Well I would hate to go to the others if this is the best!! The queue was long but we were only too happy to wait for the fabulous food we anticipated, the service was terrible - the young girl taking the orders needs to get another job as she clearly did not want to be there and was very unfriendly. When the food came it was certainly not the delicious food we expected. The fish was just "ok" and the chips were not much better. We were really disappointed and would not go here again.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwinkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Omg just the best fish and chips thoroughly enjoyed them. Great service. Didn't have to wait too long for my order. Just devine.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Cats_away_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was a lot of anticipation for this visit seeing as they got free advertising at the all blacks test match and hearing about the trouble the town has been through. We really wanted to support the place. We had been taking about the visit for a while. So when we turned up and the blue cod was 12 dollars and total bill 39 bucks for two adults and one child under two we thought well it’s for a good cause and it should be great quality. But what we opened on the beach felt like half our order had been left at the shop. Two half size cods and about a dozen chips. Completely inadequate. We were left hungry and went elsewhere for a second dinner. What we did get was ok in quality but I wouldn’t be returning in a hurry.

Shout out to tahuna campstore takeaways in Dunedin where the blue cod is fresher, bigger, lightly battered and the meal would have only been ten bucks all up.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Criticpseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coopers Catch Kaikoura also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Coopers Catch Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Philippines
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.