We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maldives: Meeting Paradise and Friends”
Review of Arena Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Maldives: Meeting Paradise and Friends”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Originally, we booked rooms at Arena Lodge, one of the cheapest accommodations in the island. But when we had arrived in the island, we were transferred to a more pleasant accommodation without paying additional fee. We were surprised that they upgraded us to Arena Beach Hotel, a beach front accommodation which also owns the Arena Lodge. We all had a pleasant stay in Arena Beach Hotel. Truly, the hotel offers quality accommodation and great service. The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Another plus point for this resort is it's close to the private beach.
http://www.marxtermind.com/2014/05/maldives-meeting-paradise-and-friends.html

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marxtermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Owner at Arena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Arena Beach Hotel. It was a great pleasure for us to have you free upgraded to Arena Beach Hotel located right on the beach of the island. And we are more glad to know that you liked the upgrade that we offered to you in staying at Arena beach hotel.

We are excited to read your amazing experience at our hotel and are fortunate to know that you liked everything about the hotel including our staffs, services and the pleasant environment that you enjoyed.

The wonderful memories that you left with us will always stay with us until we welcome you back with new momories in future!!

With Best Regards
Ahmed Samih
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    69
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
57
175
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Long story short:
+ great location (nice garden, public beach)
+ very helpful and kind staff
+ cleam rooms
+ everything is new - furniture, etc.
+ big bathrooms
+ food for us was very good

- generally we think that Maafushi's guesthouses should cooperate with each other while they organise daily trips for guests - it would be more convenient and probably a bit cheaper

Room Tip: Only rooms with sea view with balcony - view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrzejjmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Owner at Arena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Andrzejjmm,

Thank you for your beautiful review on our hotel and it is a real pleasure to read your constructive feedback and amazing experience you had at our hotel during your stay in the Maldives.

Regarding your feedback on our day trips, we will continue working with other guesthouses in collectively arranging our day trips in the most effective and affordable manner.

We thank you for choosing Arena beach hotel and are looking forward to have you with us once again in future

Kind Regards
Ahmed Samih
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We've checked other hotels on the island and there was nothing better than Arena Beach. The hotel is brand new and very modern. The location is perfect - only 30 meters from the public beach, but yet the surrounding area was nice and quiet. The hotel has its own beach with sun beds (free of charge), but if you wanna swim you need to have special shoes (lots of sharp coral reef debris) or go to the public beach (the rocks were cleaned there). Breakfasts were good, everyday different, especially for meat eaters. Vegetarians will find it slightly less diverse. On request they serve early breakfast to those who take a morning ferry to Male (7:30 am). The staff is very helpful. I didn't like the island itself very much, though. If you expect it to be a picturesque paradise with wooden piers in blue water you'll be disappointed. It's nothing like that. It's inhabited by Muslim population, very nice people, but quite strict with the Islam rules - no beach clothing beyond the public beach. Not to mention alcohol - forbidden on the island. The beach itself is a narrow, maybe 100-meter long stripe of sand, separated from the main road by a bamboo fence. It's horribly overcrowded, since all tourists must go there. It is very international so you will have to deal with people with different manners. It's also quite family oriented so if you're not very fond of kids (I'm not) it might be really annoying. And there is nowhere else to go on the island as the rest is just private houses, an electric plant and.. a prison (I'm not joking). I say if you can afford the resorts - go for it. If you can't but still wanna go to Maldives - make it a short holiday. I went to Maafushi only for 4 days and it was more than enough. And book Arena Beach Hotel - at least you'll get some privacy on its beach. Believe me, you'll need it.

Room Tip: I'd recommend booking an upper room with a sea view - the view is really worth a couple of bucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Owner at Arena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear G M,

Thank you for the valuable feedback and for choosing Arena Beach Hotel as your holiday destination. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for the beautiful comments on our hotel in over all, and specifically on the surrounding environment like our private beach. Your comment is also an immensely encouraging feedback for our staffs as whole and especially for F&B team.

As for comments about the island, we will continue working with associated partners, institutions and NGOs to make the island a more welcoming place for tourists than ever.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in the Maldives and we hope to have you once again in future

Kind Regards
Ahmed Samih
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the best place to be in if you are in Maafushi. i had visited this place along with my wife and we had the most wonderful time here. The hotel is a new property and in great condition. It is worth the amount they charge. The staff here is awesome and very very friendly. While they ensure that they guide you whenever required at the same time know when to give privacy to you so that you can enjoy your stay here. I will surely go back here. special thanks to Maria and Ali (the manager). Right from the minute we reached there till the minute we left we were taken care off. Maria was very friendly and ensured that the guests are comfortable. She never hides anything from you to convince you for an excursions. she wants you to have fun and would suggest whatever is required so that you have fun. Thanks a lot Maria.... Ali (manager) was also very friendly and helped me out for the snorkelling.. I will definitely come back to this place. wish to see the friendly staff again... :) I think the only negative here was the food. it was not very great. Although the cook tried his best to help us out with what we wanted. The rooms were cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena B, Front Office Manager at Arena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear catejas,

It is a great pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor after the stay with us.
Our team members were very much excited after seeing your review.
It was such a joy to make your stay wonderful and we are glad that you enjoyed to the max.

As for the food, we have pretty much changed the everything of the food and beverage and we cant wait for you taste the food. I'm very sure you would love it this time.

Thank You so much for choosing us and we will always keep striving to give you our best service.We look forward in seeing you again.

Best regards,
Mahu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maafushi Island
0.1 km away
Kaani Beach Hotel
Kaani Beach Hotel
#5 of 53 in Maafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 km away
Crystal Sands
Crystal Sands
#3 of 53 in Maafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 km away
Kaani Village & Spa
Kaani Village & Spa
#2 of 53 in Maafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Shadow Palm Hotel
Shadow Palm Hotel
#1 of 53 in Maafushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.4 km away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
36.1 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Beach Hotel

Property: Arena Beach Hotel
Address: 08090
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price range (per night): ₱4,473 - ₱9,443
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arena Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing