We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast location”
Review of Headlands Bistro

Headlands Bistro
Ranked #284 of 480 Restaurants in Wollongong
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Perfect place for breakfast, the 180 degree views of the surrounding beaches are amazing. The bistro and hotel are open and breezy, there’s a grass area for the kids to have a run around. Breakfast was delicious - we ordered the waffles with strawberries and ice cream, the bacon and eggs on sourdough and the eggs Benedict with bacon, prices were reasonable and we are already planning our next visit

Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlands A, Marketing at Headlands Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Natalie. Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're very lucky to have such amazing views here at Headlands and we're glad you managed to take them in over a delicious breakfast. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Kind Regards
Sarah
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Went here for the first time on sunday, there were 4 of us, and we were lucky enough to get a table with a beautiful view, cannot beat the water views!
I ordered the chilled salmon salad, love a fresh salad, I ordered haloumi as extra, who doesn't love grilled haloumi?? HOWEVER....when my salad came out, the haloumi was battered and deep fried and was absolutely Disgusting!!! why ruin a beautiful cheese and deep fry it and adding it to a salad??? if someone is ordering a salad, chances are, they don't want to eat deep fried food!!! I am still in shock as to it being deep fried, and 2 of the people at my table are chefs and they were shocked as well...rest of the salad was disappointing.
Very busy place and we were in line for the bistro for approx. 20mins...I would go again for the view and atmosphere, maybe not the food, just drinks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlands A, Marketing at Headlands Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi ymb3. Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent dining experience with us. We take all feedback regarding our food seriously and I will be passing your feedback on to our chefs. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Sarah Kitchener
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I've had many many burgers, in several countries, some in really cheap places. Even had frozen burgers from a grocery store. None of them were as bad as this one. This was the first burger I didn't finish and threw away about half of it.

Considering its price, you don't expect even an average/good burger, you expect a very good one. The quality is not acceptable for the price.

Moreover, when we ordered coffee and desert, they served our coffees way ahead of the desert. So, by the time we got our desert, our coffees were not hot anymore.

The view is nice, but the bad smell from the low tide was not. So, unless you're dying to see an ocean front view, despite sitting in a smelly terrace and eating really bad food and paying dearly for it, consider some place else.

Thank GT-Force_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlands A, Marketing at Headlands Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi GT-Force_GT. Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent dining experience with us. We take all feedback regarding our food seriously and aim to continuously work towards bettering ourselves and our offering. Thank you again, I will be passing your feedback on to our management team.

Kind Regards
Sarah Kitchener
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Being there few times as we love the ambience and environment of the hotel(accomodation). We have had our meals at the bistro every time we stayed there and from day one food has been a total disappointing. Especially with the price we pay, at least the quality of the food should be good. And to make it even worse, the wait time on food is absolutely terrible. Half an hour for a breakfast to be ready is ridiculous. And it wasn't a busy morning. Even when we ordered dinner the previous night the wait was like 45mins. The food taste was so bad especially the roast lamb which cost $75. There were 6 of us and everyone was so disappointed with their food.And the kitchen to be closed at 8.30pm especially on a Thursday night is not good at all and if they choose to close the kitchen at that inappropriate time then please at least serve the desserts till 9pm. We requested for the dessert at 8.45pm however we were been told that kitchen is closed. Seriously!!! If you choose to operate a business then operate in accordance to the visitors there. We are for sure not having any meals there in future should we choose to stay at the headlands. I strongly recommend the managers to overview this bistro's quality of food.

Thank Preeti1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlands A, Marketing at Headlands Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Preeti1101. Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that you did not have an enjoyable dining experience with us. We aim to continuously work towards bettering ourselves and our offering and take all comments regarding our food seriously. Thank you again, I will be passing all your feedback on to our management team.

Kind Regards
Sarah Kitchener
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Hits the 3 major points, Location, Views & Location !! But I'm afraid the pricing is beyond most. $30 Burgers beggar belief while the drink prices are not much better ? Will give it another visit but maybe after I win Lotto ?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlands A, Marketing at Headlands Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Skeney57. Thank you for your review. The views are lovely here at headlands, but I will pass your feedback on to our management team. Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Sarah Kitchener,
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Headlands Bistro also viewed

Scarborough, New South Wales
Austinmer, Wollongong
 
Coledale, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Coledale, New South Wales
Thirroul, New South Wales
 

Been to Headlands Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing