We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great service, and great food!”

The Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 82 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$32
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This ultra-popular restaurant (especially with locals who love a long lunch here) serves appetising Mediterranean meals in a relaxed, inviting space. It has a great outdoor courtyard, surrounded by wisteria, with tables shaded by large umbrellas and inside there’s a huge open fireplace in the centre of the room, surrounded by crisp, white-clothed tables and indoor gardens. Owner/chef Andy Wright offers a seasonal menu using the best Australian produce with regulars returning for popular á la carte dishes like pan-fried barramundi and eight-hour slow-braised Milly Hill lamb or the signature dish – whole suckling pig roast (48 hours’ notice required).
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a Monday night and were the only people there.

Kristy was very friendly, informative and spot on with recommendations.

The meals were exceptional - I had the steak and my mum had the short rib. Both cooked to perfection!

The dessert Kristy suggested the vanilla bean creme brûlée was delicious! And my mum thoroughly enjoyed the cheese plate.

I can see why there are so many rave reviews!
This was the highlight of our visit!

We can’t wait to return!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Laurenxxander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2018

We've eaten here several times and always find the menu accommodates everyone in the family. The staff are excellent with liaising with the chef in regard to certain dietary requirements.

We also find the layout of the restaurant is accommodating if travelling with elderly people with walkers. There seems to be more space in this restaurant than many others at Pokolbin and it's level, so you're not navigating stairs.

The food is consistently good. The service is warm and friendly. In Summer the restaurant remains lovely and cool and in the Winter they have the fire blazing to warm things up a bit.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C0nstantlyOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I dined here after a day of touring wine country. It was a relaxing atmosphere, the service was very friendly, and the food was wonderful from appetizers to dessert. Perfect ending to a perfect day!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Lovely setting inside The Hunter Valley Gardens Village with attentive and fun staff.
Large group of 14 gathered at The Cellar Restaurant for an annual long lunch last Saturday.
The menu had something for everyone - my main was a slow cooked braised beef short rib which just melted in the mouth and was divine. The wine list, while relatively short showcased a diverse range. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiwiwcyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

My family and O travelled up for my mums 60th Lunch for 15 people. The staff a pleasure to work with from booking to confirmation and especially on the day.
The food was to die for! The Suckling pig banquet was the best pork we have EVER eaten, and for a family pf big eaters we were full to the brim, with great local produce ingredients.
The staff were professional and very accommodating to all of our needs. It is safe to say this is our new favourite restaurant!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing