We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$221
View deal
Expedia.com
$242
View deal
Agoda.com
$211
View deal
Hotels.com$242
Priceline$237
Travelocity$242
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
154
96
44
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
154
96
44
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunter valley breakfast was excellent circa driveway peppertree deluxe wines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 335 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

I stayed here just for one night for a concert. Stayed in Room 821 which was a newly renovated suite. The room was lovely and comfortable and we felt right at home. Breakfast was delicious and had everything you needed. Staff nice and friendly. Have actually booked in again for next month to go and see the Christmas lights at the Hunter Valley Gardens.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheConventM, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2019

Dear Debra W,

Greetings from The Convent Hunter Valley Resort!
We appreciate your time to post your feedback on your most recent stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you felt at home enjoyed our breakfast offerings.
Thank you for booking with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to visit the Christmas Lights Extravaganza at nearby Hunter Valley Gardens.

Sincerely,

The Convent Hunter Valley Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

What a amazing experience my wife and I had the food was just scrumptious the venue was absolutely divine and Brent .p the waiter was very professional and knew what wine to match the food .

Just like to give you a big thank you on behave of my wife and myself .

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickyxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheConventM, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2019

Dear Mickyxxxx,

Greetings form The Convent Hunter Valley Resort!
We wish to thank you for your wonderul comments about our award-winning restaurant, Circa 1876 and its staff.
More than the historic cottage where is it located, the extraordinary cuisine which Circa 1876 is also known for, it is the chefs and service staff, headed by our executive Chef, Trent Barrett, which make everything stand out.
We look forward to your next visit to our restaurant.

Sincerely.

The Convent Hunter Valley Resort & Circa 1876 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019

Greeted by friendly staff, the Convent offered a quiet and peaceful retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley. While the room was a little smaller than expected, it was well maintained and comfortable. Opting for the dinner at Circa 1876, we enjoyed a delicious dinner and it was great just to be able to stroll back to the accommodation after the meal. Great options on the menu and fantastic service. After a restful sleep, enjoyed a delicous breakfast in restuarant 88. Would love to stay again and thanks again to the helpful staff.

Room tip: Recommend a deal that includes a meal
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheConventM, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2019

Dear dave j,

Greetings form The Convent Hunter Valley Resort!
We wish to thank you for your positive feedback on your most recent stay with us and your dining experiences at Circa 1876 and Restaurant 88.
More than the beautiful and tranquil surroundings, we take pride in the services and quality offerings we have for our guests who mostly stay to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.
We hope to welcome you back to the property in your future travels to the Wine Country!

Sincerely,

The Convent Hunter Valley Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

We booked the Gourmet Getaway Package for my husband's 60th birthday and loved it! Stayed in a garden suite which was very spacious and comfortable. The 3 course meal at Circa 1876 was fabulous. Service everywhere was excellent, including the lift back to our room after dinner. Lovely grounds to walk around and all beautifully decorated and maintained.

Room tip: Garden suite is a bit more expensive but is private and separated from the main house, and very spacious.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheConventM, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019

Dear Vivienne H,

Greetings from The Convent Hunter Valley Resort!
We wish to thank you for your wonderful comments about the property and Circa 1876 Restaurant on your recent stay in August for your husband's 60th birthday!
The hotel is definitely a great place to relax and enjoy special occasions with loved ones, and ideal homebase for a memroable culinary experience at Circa 1876.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the property either to celebrate another special occasion or to simply unwind form the bustle of city life.

Sincerely,

The Convent Hunter Valley Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

What a lovely place to stay.
The property is just wonderful, our room was so comfortable with views from all windows...room 16. Our room opened out to two verandahs that were bathed in sunlight.
The breakfasts are so fresh and very good value for money.
And Vicki , the host, is just so helpful... nothing is too much bother. Thanks Vicki to you and your staff for such a memorable stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
3  Thank richamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheConventM, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear richamar,

Greetings from The Convent Hunter Valley Resort!
We wish to thank you once again for your kind words about the resort and our team during your most recent visit.
It is great to know how much you enjoyed your special occasion in our property.
More than the beautiful surroundings in the area, much of the experience are to be credited to our staff who ensures that services provided and meals served are of good quality, without being to obtrusive.
We look forwrad to welcoming you back to our property in the near future!

Regards,

The Convent Hunter Valley Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews