We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breaky!”
Review of Moor

Moor
Ranked #26 of 619 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Description: casual relaxed atmosphere, fresh food influenced by the flavours of the Middle East Morrocco and Spain. Premium specialty coffee.
Restaurant details
Description: casual relaxed atmosphere, fresh food influenced by the flavours of the Middle East Morrocco and Spain. Premium specialty coffee.
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Lots of choices in the general vicinity - but very glad we chose Moor. Delicious coffee - and sheets with the "pedigree" of the coffee provided for our information. We both decided on the Croque Monsieur- and we thought we were transported back to Paris! Tres Bon!! Other dishes at surrounding tables looked equally good. A little quirky or out of the ordinary offerings - not the stock standard choices - but all sounded like very good pairings. Will definitely return when again in Newcastle.

Thank Juli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Food was fantastic very varied. We had tapas and it was great to get a taste of lots of the dishes. Also had dessert. This was a great place.

Thank MIC080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Moor for our anniversary. We had olives and anchovies, blackened Brussel sprouts, slow cooked lamb, and spicy paprika (?) chicken. It was all delicious but our fave was the chicken and the squid. The food has lovely combinations of flavours, some dishes are moderately spicy (we love spicy food) but may be too hot for those who don't like any sort of spicyness.The service was good (friendly but not intrusive) and we sat outside as it was a perfect evening. All the dishes were presented as suitable for sharing. Cost was reasonable at $150 for the 5 dishes (2 main meal size) plus 3 glasses of wine and one cocktail. Loved it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We chose this place for a low key bday.
The food is best suited for sharing, nice selection of vegetarian and meat dishes.
The quality of food is fantastic.
Have not had one underwhelming dish.
Service is also second to none in the best way possible- casual, friendly, honest, knowledgeable and professional.
Highly recommend.

Thank Kasper J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Very disappointed and embarrassing. We invited a group of locals who live in our apartment block. We shared the meals so asked our host to select the meals for us. Don't think Morocco and steaming clay tagines! Think famine - I had one tiny morsel of beef the size of 10 cent piece, one tiny spoon of dried out tasteless cous cous and another tiny spoon of dried out rice. I also had 1/3 piece of flat bread. I was baffled why we had tiny bread and butter plates rather than a dinner plate until the fear started to run down my spine that this was all we would need for the evening. No one at the table was game to eat for fear others would have nothing on their plate. The best thing for me was the coffee but two folk at our table had cold coffee. There was no use complaining.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Sue and Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at Moor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi The Telfords,
Thanks for taking the time to review and offer us feedback from your experience at Moor.
Our Tagine night has been a huge success with rave reviews and many customers returning several times since its inception 8 weeks ago. We have even had a couple that have been to all 8 Tagine nights and continue to bring new friends along, so it was with great surprise that we received your low rating and quite scathing comments.
Firstly please allow me to apologise on behalf of all the crew at Moor! It seems clear there was a breakdown in communication. As you are aware we offer a tagine for $15, we would never intend a $15 plate to feed more than one person. It concerns me that you were under the impression that one plate would feed more than one of your guests. The portion size for the Beef tagine you mentioned was 170g (cooked weight) I know this because i supervised the portioning myself and have no doubt each portion was spot on, its great value. On the night you attended we had positive feedback on the beef along with all the food in fact. I want to remind you that we serve the rice and couscous for $5 per bowl and recommend 1 bowl per person or one between two if you're not too hungry. Also the rice couscous and flatbread are cooked fresh on the evening as an accompaniment to the tagine and is obviously not flavoured heavily so as not to clash with the flavours of the tagines.
I do apologise that we don't cook and serve each "tagine" in a clay pot as you might expect to see in Morocco - the investment that would be required along with the logistics of serving 80 plus customers- to do so quite simply would not be viable for our business. A fair criticism may be that we shouldn't call it a tagine if its not cooked in one! Yes, perhaps we should be more politically correct and call it a spiced morroccan style stew? We cook our food carefully and with love, we take measures to use authentic spices sourced from our local spice vendor located a few blocks away, we change the meat and feature vegetables each week and focus on utilising the finest seasonal produce to keep it interesting and fresh for our customers and staff alike.
I honestly do feel sorry that you felt you were not served enough food, however i am perplexed as to why you didn't simply ask your friendly waiter to order some more food for you and your guests. This would have been done promptly and avoided the embarrassing situation you found yourself in.
I also am sorry to hear that two folk at your table were served cold coffee, this is simply unacceptable and there is no excuse for it. We apologise.
Finally, your comment that "there was no use complaining", with respect that is just not true. We always aim at perfection, however sometimes we don't get things right. Our staff are trained to accept complaints with objectivity and make the number one priority to make good on the situation by giving the customer what they need.
Thanks again for your feedback and if you would like to discuss your experience and comments further we would welcome the opportunity. feel free to pop down or call on 40237096
Kind regards,
Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moor also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing