We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner in every way!”

Tanoshi Teppan and Sake Bar
Ranked #7 of 291 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Description: A teppan and sake bar located in central Queenstown offers a fun and intimate dining experience. Host Keita Yoshimura offers extensive sake, whiskey and Japanese cocktail menus with Kirin lager on tap. Chef Minori Yoneda presents traditional Japanese cuisine from the teppan grill and has assembled some contemporary interpretations of Japanese classics. Open for lunch and dinner to late night grazing - Tanoshi, meaning 'fun' will entertain and delight
Restaurant details
Description: A teppan and sake bar located in central Queenstown offers a fun and intimate dining experience. Host Keita Yoshimura offers extensive sake, whiskey and Japanese cocktail menus with Kirin lager on tap. Chef Minori Yoneda presents traditional Japanese cuisine from the teppan grill and has assembled some contemporary interpretations of Japanese classics. Open for lunch and dinner to late night grazing - Tanoshi, meaning 'fun' will entertain and delight
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic dinner at Tanoshi. The food is super delicious with great prices for Queenstown, the atmosphere something completely different to other restaurants and finally the service and team of Tanoshi is excellent. We had a perfect night!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hendrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

This is a gorgeous wee Japanese restaurant down Cow Lane in Queenstown and it’s incredible!
The flavours are authentic, the service is polite and fast and the atmosphere made me feel like I was in Japan dining in a friendly casual local fav.
Highly recommend the Yaki-udon, gyoza and the garlic soy marinated chicken.
Come and check this wee gem out!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank charliecharlie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Great little pocket of Japanese cuisine nestled in the queenstown city centre. Quality and service was great, but having spent a serious amount of time in Japanese restraunts across the globe the dishes lacked a little flavour.

Sauces accompanying the dishes were good however it didn't seem be absorbed by the dishes main ingredients.

Definately the best Japanese cusine I had in Queenstown with presentable dishes. Just lacked that flavour punch.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Tourist45925054165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

This place is almost true to Japanese style. It is a cosy restaurant run by polite Japanese staff. The dishes are small but taste delicious, especially the salmon aburi which melts in the mouth. Udon and okonomiyaki is average though.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank the_gml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We came here because my husband loves sake and Japanese, but I’m just okay with it. We were both blown away with the food! The steak tataki was the best steak we had in NZ! The shredded chicken dish we had with sprouts and miso gravy over it was a share dish but I ate most of it...the gyoza are handmade and the pork inside freshly ground and were the best we’d ever had!!! We have two weeks left and we’re already planning on coming again!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank tntgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanoshi Teppan and Sake Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Tanoshi Teppan and Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing