We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dude and Molly are the best!”

Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ben Lomond Horse Treks Ltd is located just 15 minutes from the centre of Queenstown making us the nearest trekking business to the centre of town. We offer complimentary bus transfers from your accommodation and tours start from $80. Our tours comprise spectacular lakeside and mountains views, river crossings and we ensure that you will be left mesmerised by the beauty of this 35,000 acre working farm. It doesn't matter if you are a total beginner or very experienced we will tailor make your trek to suit. We have 18 gorgeous horses that are highly trained and 11 trek guides to ensure that you have safety and fun in Queenstown's number 1 horse trekking company. We are open 7 days a week.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a fantastic ride last week with Molly as our tour guide, I was riding Dude who was great, sometimes decided to take his own path instead of following the crowd but all was good. Molly whipped out some interesting facts about the area and the paradise birds too. Have started recommending the tour to friends and tourists already :) Thanks guys!

Thank Nia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BL_HorseTreks, horse trainer at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nia,

Thanks for taking time to write us a review,

We are pleased to hear that you liked Dude ( and your guide Molly!)

Thanks for recommending us and feel free to come again any time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour trek"
in 24 reviews
"moke lake"
in 45 reviews
"beautiful horses"
in 8 reviews
"lovely guide"
in 7 reviews
"well trained horses"
in 6 reviews
"private ride"
in 4 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 11 reviews
"great trek"
in 5 reviews
"valley crossing"
in 3 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 16 reviews
"safety demonstration"
in 3 reviews
"valley floor"
in 4 reviews
"trot and canter"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyable ride"
in 4 reviews
"breathtaking experience"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 15 reviews
"my partner"
in 9 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did the 3hr private ride, our guide Manon was fantastic. Got to canter and gallop, one of the best trail rides I have done! And what a great view. Thank you!

Thank SuzieAtkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BL_HorseTreks, horse trainer at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Suzie,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are glad you had an amazing time with Manon!

Please come back to ride with us again next time you are in Queenstown :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I booked to go on the trail as it said mixed ability and I’m an experienced rider whilst he is a beginner. I signed in as an intermediate rider and told the instructor when I got there also but the entire two hour ride was walking which was incredibly disappointing. I did tell the staff and they replied that I should have told them...perhaps an opportunity for them to communicate amongst themselves better. Also the riding centre is a good 20 minute ride from the station pick up. Beautiful horses and scenery but not very well ran sadly.

Thank Happyabcd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BL_HorseTreks, horse trainer at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Donna,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.

As you mentioned above, your husband was a beginner and the other couple in your group were also beginners. The safety of our riders is paramount and so we always cater to the lowest level of experience in the group. We would not allow first time riders to go faster than a walk because of this. However we are always happy to arrange for a customer to go faster if they are deemed to have the appropriate experience and are advised to talk to their guide about this. Unfortunately you did not mention to your guide that you would like to go faster and so she did not take you back out for a canter.

Thankfully we ride in outstanding scenery so riders of all abilities have the opportunity to take in exceptional views on horseback, which makes even walking pace rides a breathtaking experience. As you mentioned above, we are lucky to have this spectacular valley to ride through only a 20 minute drive from town.

There is always the opportunity to book a private ride with us which allows us to cater to your individual needs without worrying about others in your group. We would advise you to book this next time.

Kind regards,
Ben Lomond Horse Treks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really awesome time and felt well looked after at Ben Lomond horse treks. I was in a group with just 3 others (there were another couple at the same time but they were on a seperate trip, it is nice to keep small groups like this!). The views were incredible and varied as we trekked and the horses all really well behaved and seemed healthy and happy. The equipment used looked new and in good nick and gloves were provided too thankfully as I forgot mine and would have been freezing otherwise!

Flo did a demonstration on how to direct the horse and get on and off before we left which was super handy and had me feeling much more confident prior to riding. Lisa took us on the tour and was a lovely guide.

Thanks Flo, Val and Lisa for your time. And thanks Lennie for letting me sit on your back for 1.5 hours, hope you get a nice carrot in return.

Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BL_HorseTreks, horse trainer at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Sophie,

Thank you so much for your review!

We are so pleased that you had a great time with us and please feel free to come back ad give Lenny some carrots ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Ben Lomond Horse Trekking is one of the best activities in Queenstown!! I absolutely had the best time with my guide Molly. All of the staff is so friendly and helpful, and they did a great job!! Highly recommend!! Worth every cent!

Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BL_HorseTreks, horse trainer at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thank you so much Kelly !!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours also viewed

 
Glenorchy, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing