We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy lunch”
Review of Speight's Alehouse

Speight's Alehouse
Ranked #22 of 415 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Recently went to the Speights Alehouse to celebrate my Uncle 91 Birthday. Everyone enjoyed themselves and my food (spare ribs) were yummy. Everyone in the group ( 12 people) also enjoyed their meals. I liked the old brewery theme, quirky, but a really neat atmosphere. The staff were excellent, attentive but not in your face either.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Invercargilldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing,small piece of rump with half a lettuce on your plate and no mussels or prawns in seafood chowder.
Last time we waste our money there.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KylaB165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We stopped in for lunch the building is pretty cool and it was good value for a good meal.The service was friendly and the food came out quickly. If we had longer we would have done the tour also maybe next time.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kylee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Speight’s Alehouse was really nice and the beer was great! My boyfriend hates lamb but when he accidentally ordered a lamb meal, he did not regretted it. Cheers!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lourdesmelaniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Great food and big servings. Was really busy for a mid week night but service was good all round. Enjoyable night out for 2.

Enjoyed the dark ale beer.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robertwW9661LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speight's Alehouse also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Speight's Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing