We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing changes its still outstanding”
Review of Hans Herzog Estate

Hans Herzog Estate
Ranked #14 of 133 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$106
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hans Herzog Estate is one of New Zealand’s most treasured, truly artisan wineries. Settled in 1994 in the heart of Marlborough within the most beautiful gardens Herzog’s offers casual luxury and indulgence for food and wine lovers. Unfettered by commercial considerations, the Herzog’s have adopted an experimentalist stance, cultivating an eclectic array of grape varieties all of them highly acclaimed wines rich in varietal character showing off the covetous terroir. The Estate’s iconic Gourmet Restaurant, casual Bistro, stylish Cellar Door and lovely Vineyard Cottage oozes European elegance and together with vivacious Therese’s and her team warm hospitality it really is a must visit destination!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food and the staff are fantastic, we are so lucky to still have great places like Herzog to eat such wonderful food. the service IS ALWAYS SUPERB

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank O1424OVrichardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

Our second visit to Hans Herzog and we stayed in the delightful vineyard cottage among the vines. This is an unusual Marlborough vineyard in that it grows no less than 27 different grape varieties, reflecting the passion of Hans who came from Switzerland to establish this winery from scratch. The fine wines accompany fine food in the informal bistro restaurant or in the fine dining restaurant. But the overriding feature is the quality of the team. Knowledgable and friendly, nothing is too much trouble so one can relax and enjoy. Recommended as the place to stay in Marlborough.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Lunch in the Bistro with a group, great setting, with great food and service. Knowledgeable staff, a great range of wines, a very nice experience to enjoy food with matching wines. We were seated inside, but on a nice sunny day there is also nice seating outside in the Garden. Worth the drive there.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AoteaTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We had dinner in the very stylish bistro. We decided to go for the 3 course menu with matching wine. Very warm welcome, the food was fantastic and the wines were beautiful. Our host Pierre did an excellent job. We had an unforgettable evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FransS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Amazing boutique winery that purposely grows and bottles a limited collection of very good truly organic wine. We had a full tour and tasting of the vineyard then a very nice meal at the Bistro.
A definite place to visit and make a reservation.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LesBarker-AllroundVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hans Herzog Estate also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Hans Herzog Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing