We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience! ”

Dodson Street Beer Garden
Ranked #12 of 133 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: “Best Restaurant“ - Beer & Brewer People’s Choice Awards New Zealand 2013 “3rd Best Bar“ - Beer & Brewer People’s Choice Awards New Zealand 2013 “Best Marlborough Restaurant“ - SOBA Awards 2013 “Best Marlborough Bar“ - SOBA Awards 2013 + 2014 + 2015 + 2016 Experience OZ + NZ : One of Marlborough's 10 best Restaurants TripAdviser : One of Marlborough's 10 best Restaurants
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Fantastic spot, very deceptive from the outside.
Opens up into a great German tavern, lovely beer garden and welcoming staff.
Excellent choice of beers, tried 11 altogether, you can get five decent samples on a beer paddle. Kaiser brothers chocolate berry 6.5 percent was very easy to drink.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GeneralCuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

The venue is amazing brilliant outdoor area and really cool German beer hall feeling inside. But the food was a bit meh.the service was an absolute nightmare. "What beers do you have on tap?" "Hmmmm I don't know, I think we have a few". When the meals were do ally delivered to the table with a gap of 10 minutes for the kids meal we were going to ask for another drink but the waitress left and we never saw her again. When someone else finally came she took our plates but would not take a drink order. Very dissapointed, defniatly not worth the price point. Will never return and will not recommend to anyone I like.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietmar S, Owner at Dodson Street Beer Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Mel B.
Thank you for your fabulous review of my restaurant.
We asked around and nobody could give me a proper description of the word “Meh!”.
In addition we would like to have a further explanation of the word “defniatly”. Much appreciated.
It was clearly recommended to you to visit our bar to get a feeling for our ever-changing beer / cider / wine selection.
With over 612 different beers served during our 6 years of operation and alone 13 new ones over the weekend our lovely waitress couldn’t know which beers are currently on tap. We served over 300 guests on this day and we are very sorry for not meeting your very high standards.
The whole team of Dodson Street Beer Garden is greatly disappointed to read your review after a huge effort to make our guests happy over this extremely busy weekend. This is not an excuse for any mistake. Mistakes are happening, as we are all humans. Service at Dodson Street Beer Garden is an inter-action and team work with our lovely guests. 1181 guests understood it last week.
“Will never return and will not recommend to anyone I like.” Question : One or all two you like ?
Have a great time and all the best from
Dietmar, Family and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Snuck past here for a late lunch / early dinner - were pleasantly surprised! Food was delish and home made with lots of sauces on the side. Good selection of beers! Make sure you sit out in the sunshine.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank julieaitchison09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a really cool spot for a family meal this is the place to go!! Great value, great food and even better selection of beer. Well worth the effort! We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank A1361BZmattg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is tucked away in a side street off the main road so you have to look for it. Once you get past the door and down the stairs you end up in a beer hall. Be warned,this is not a quite restaurant just like a German beer hall. Hearty reasonably priced food with craft beers and a tonne of atmosphere. The menu consists of mainly German food as well as pizzas. I had the pork schnitzel with mushroom sauce and my wife had the soup of the day, both of which were excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank wilfredog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dodson Street Beer Garden also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Dodson Street Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing