We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legit”

Kazu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #193 of 1,079 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the city of Wellington in December 2002, Kazu, a Japanese Izakaya-style restaurant with traditional Japanese seating (Tatami), and a counter facing the open kitchen was opened. From the carefully selected Sake and the chef’s own original sushi, to the Rice and Magnolia leaf hot-pots, the traditional Japanese meals can be enjoyed by anyone. We wish that both our service and our food can be enjoyed by all our customers, adults and children alike.
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Food flavours are legit. Pretty certain chef is Japanese.
Homely familiar Japanese feel.
Food well priced. Not too much or too little. Staff happy, welcoming.
Korean wait staff have learned some Japanese phrases.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank datchian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018

We happen to walk past this restaurant and it was just perfect. Really light food and a great selection of meals. Great price, absolutely loved it. We went in during lunchtime so very quiet. They had sitting arrangements where you could sit in Japanese style or just at the seats. Great service.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SamoanDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Tapas were great, a larger selection would be fantastic. Can't fault the sashimi and service was good :)

Sushi was so-so, mains were okay. Overall, would return for the tapas and sashimi, not so much the other stuff.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank carllin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We stumbled across this restaurant and had a great time! The sushi was delicious, the beer was cold, and the prices were reasonable--what more can you ask for? The service could have been better, but the atmosphere was a lot of fun, especially having to take your shoes off to sit at the Japanese-style tables. Would recommend!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Our family was so grateful to have found this restaurant. We have eaten Japanese food in many major cities around the world, and this experience ranks near the top. The sushi was fresh and flavorful, the wagyu beef nigiri was phenomenal, and the ramen was excellent. Family friendly, too, with reasonable prices an overall great value.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank cspitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Kazu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing